A Poet to Sing Your Heart


 

Image Source: Wikipedia

Image Source: Wikipedia

*

*

*

“Ah, wisdom! That’s Zanaida’s biggest problem. We don’t have wisdom,” said Lord Franusla in lamentation.

“And we don’t have wisdom because…” Lord Franusla was a bit hesitant at first, but then he continued, “… because… Uh, I’m not saying this because we envy the Greeks, but we don’t have wisdom because we don’t have philosophers. In fact, we can’t produce one.”

Kasheva was listening attentively.

Lord Franusla continued, “We need philosophers. Yes philosopher in its real meaning: those who love wisdom. We don’t need smart people who show off their intellect but leave us the commoners in confusion. What we need is  people who can inspire us, those who can share their wisdom with us, pave the way for us, and help us to ignite our passion to develop our knowledge and civilization.”

Kasheva understood Zanaida’s longing for wisdom, but he also knew that wisdom is not exclusive to philosophers. He replied, “My Lord. When a society cannot produce a philosopher to speak its mind, it longs for a poet to sing its heart.”

Lord Franusla was silent for a moment. Then, gazing at Kasheva, he replied, “I can see that’s the divine reason for your presence in Zanaida.”

51 thoughts on “A Poet to Sing Your Heart

    • Yes, it is from a book project I am working on. There are lots of things to work on, I know, so please bear with me for a little while. Take care, and thank you for commenting, many blessings and much love to you ♥

  1. And I believe that that’s at the core of our existence: to find our divine reason for being. Only then, can we inspire. We who seek light and find it without hoarding, and nurture it unselfishly are then philosophers. Beautiful.

    Is this piece from one of your books?

    • Oh, wow, thank you for imparting your wisdom, Somer. You are one wonderful soul. Yes, it is an excerpt from my book project. Definitely needs a lot of polishing, I know, 🙂

  2. Happy birthday ~ I disagree about not having philosophers but, it may just be that I catogorize a philosopher differently ~ many poets, apologetics and writers are philosophical ~ Thank you friend ~ Blessings

    • Thank you, I agree with you, many writers are philosophical and so are poets. That is why the character, Kasheva said that statement, sorry if it is not clear enough, but I will try to make it much clearer next time, thank you again, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

  3. Nice riposte from Kasheva! I like how he turns that notion of what is “wisdom” on its head. 🙂

    Quite interesting view of philosophy, too. I think even people in our own society have a mangled vision of what philosophy truly should be. (I chuckled when you brought up the Greeks; nice commentary!) And I know philosophers!

    You have this charming flow and cadence, in these pieces. I almost imagine a family or a village sitting in a communal room or around a fireplace, passing snippets of wisdom between them that would honestly rival any philosopher’s words.

    • Ah, that’s so sweet, and today is my birthday. This is the best birthday present ever! Thank you very much, Jules 🙂 May the Light of Love be with you forever and for always 🙂

  4. Very beautifully written Subhan.
    ‘“My Lord. When a society cannot produce a philosopher to speak its mind, it longs for a poet to sing its heart.”

  5. Philosphers, poets, writers, thinkers, doers, followers, leaders, destroyers, builders – all have a part to play, but society/people accord differing values to each – values that reflect themselves more than the object of their appraisal, I reckon.

    Peace Mas, Eric

    • 10,000 years of civilization and we are still seeking the answer to the question: why are we here in the world? Some people never even ask the question, some forget the question, some don’t bother, some keep seeking the answers. I hope I can still live for another 100 hundred years. I will be ecstatic when the answers will prevail by then. 🙂

  6. Oh, how i LOVE THIS! To me, intellect can bore, and “off-put” many people. It is not wisdom a man or woman is expressing when they regurgitate facts from a book, and others’ opinions. That is mocking at best.

    Ah, my friend, but a POET who sings his heart, sings for us all! The human experience is always best explored OUTSIDE the cerebral.! BEAUTIFUL!!!! XO Melissa

  7. I love this Subhan. I remember reading once that when a philospher finally arrives at an answer he finds so often a poet got there first.

    Great to hear your voice again.
    Corinne

    • Thank you, Corinne. You are one wonderful soul. Yes, it is great to be back. Since the last two posts I have decided to post once a week only, every Thursday, I am not sure whether I have told you this, but I hope this is fine with you. Thank you again, and many blessings and much love to you 🙂

    • Thank you for being always very supportive, Soumya. You are a wonderful soul. I am glad that I have met you in the virtual world, hope we can meet one day in person. In the meantime, let us walk together on the journey towards Light 😉

  8. I can see that is the divine reason for your presence in the blogosphere, Subhan! For you to sing our collective hearts’ song…:) You are our songbird. xo Rufina

    • Thank you, Rufina, my soul sister, you are one gorgeous soul. I hope I can continue serving humanity through the written word, blogging at this stage and full time writing when the time comes. And I am so glad to have met you along the way. May we continue strolling together on the journey to Light. 🙂

  9. Our words are our gift ~ our story ~ the story of creation and light. Through our words, we gain another type of immortality. Beautiful work, Subhan. ~ Love ever, Bobbie

    • Hi Bobbie, thank you. You are one wonderful soul, I am not sure whether I have told you that I only post once a week, every Thursday, I hope this is fine with you. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

      • Whenever your words come to you, that is when they are known, and that should be fine with everyone for they are all blessed.

    • Thank you. You are one gorgeous soul, and I shall let you know that I only post once a week, every Thursday, I hope this is fine with you. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

    • Thank you, Ann. You are one wonderful soul, and I shall let you know that I only post once a week, every Thursday, I hope this is fine with you. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

  10. Yes we won’t be able to find Philosophers easily but we can find poets and we commoners do need a piece of the pie or cake whichever is your preference.Am I right Subhan? All the best to you,I love your post.
    Ranu

    • Yes, you’re right. Totally. Wisdom is for everyone, not just exclusive to philosophers. Thank you for commenting and being supportive, as always, Ranu. May happiness be in your heart forever and for always. 🙂

Thank you

