Life Without Art


 

 

Lord Brinasla felt in the beginning it was difficult for his ego to listen to someone much younger and yet much wiser. But after hearing what Kasheva had just said, he felt the truth had come to his eyes as bright as the sun. Surreptitiously he glanced at Lady Vanisla who, again, was resisting her smile but set her unblinking gaze at Kasheva. He then exchanged glances with Lord Vladiska who was also unable to disguise his amazement. Finally, he set his eyes at Lord Yishevna.

Lord Yishevna, oblivion to the situation, felt it was now the perfect time to strike. He had a high hope that this time Kasheva wouldn’t be able to give a satisfactory answer. He said, “Young man, what is life without art?”

Kasheva was silent, but it didn’t take long until he came up with an answer,

 

Life without art is a garden without flowers, and a day without art becomes a river without water.

 

Art is the brightest light that travels from one soul to another;

In your dream it becomes the language of your soul

And in your wakefulness it becomes the music of your heart

 

That is why those who understand your poetry understand the language of your soul

And those who love your music let their soul sings joyously with yours

 

With art you give wings to your soul and let it fly to cuddle the moon

But without art your soul becomes a mute and deaf wanderer in the road of Life.

 

With art your soul is a sweet maiden who reaches the prime of her beauty,

But without art your soul is an old maid who has lost her most sacred beauty.

 

With art your soul is a tree that gives sweet and ripen fruit to everyone for free,

But without art your soul becomes a hollow trunk in the forest of Life.

 *

*

*

Slide2

 

76 thoughts on “Life Without Art

  1. Pingback: Nasheva Speaks of Passion | Subhan Zein

  2. My dear Subhan,
    I see you have been hard at work crafting your words and sculpting your thoughts. I am reminded of a precious book written by Thich Nhat Hanh on the life of the Buddha “Old Path White Clouds”. The language and flow of words here immediately brought me back to this timeless classic. Your work is gentle in conveying deep truths. I look forward to more! Thank you so much. Sharon

    • Thank you, Kakak Sharon, it is always great to read your comment. I am humbly thankful for your kind and sincere words. Please also pray for me, because I have been having some health problems, my throat has been suffocating due to inexpressible feelings, and chest constriction and difficult breathing. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you, Namaste.

    • Thank you, Indira, you are one wonderful soul. 🙂 Also, I would like to let you know that I only post once a week, every Thursday, there’s one coming in tomorrow, I hope this is fine with you, thank you and take care, 🙂

  3. Art is everywhere — not only reserved for museums, art is in the scenery, the smile of a child, the food on our plate, the music of the tiny birds of the day … to name a few,.

    • That’s right, totally agree, thank you for imparting your wisdom, Frances. 🙂 Also, I would like to let you know that I only post once a week, every Thursday, there’s one coming in tomorrow, I hope this is fine with you, thank you and take care, Frances 🙂

  4. Art is everywhere — not only reserved for museums, art is in the scenery, the smile of a child, the food on our plate, the music of the tiny birds of the day … to name a few.

  5. Art is everywhere — not only reserved for museums, art is in the scenery, the smile of a child, the food on our plate, the music of the tiny birds of the day … to name a few

    • Thank you Katya, You are one wonderful soul 🙂 I would like to let you know that I only post once a week, every Thursday, there’s one coming in tomorrow, I hope this is fine with you, thank you and take care, Katya 🙂

    • Thank you, Madhu, for your kind words. You are one generous soul. I am not sure whether I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you, many blessings and much love to you, Madhu 🙂

  6. Living “Life as an Art”! There’s no better way to enjoy Life. Uppercase because it’s that significant, above all else. It’s where we find our souls unfolding, fulfilled, open, creating, being.

    • Thank you, SomerEmpress. You are one generous soul. Many blessings and much love to you :-), Also, I am not sure whether I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you 🙂

      • This is more than fine with me, seeing that I don’t even post as often. Really trying to edit my novel and work of nonfiction. 🙂 I’ll check in, however. If I miss it, don’t blame it on my heart.

  7. What a lovely articulation of what Art means to the heart. I appreciate that you recognize all kinds of art, too: poetry, music, language, horticulture, even-! So many times, we focus on “art” as only what’s immediate to ourselves, what we consider art. It’s always good to be reminded that Art takes all forms, and breathes life and joy in many different ways.

    • Yes, Mayumi, you are totally right. Thank you for imparting your wisdom. And I am not sure whether I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

    • Thank you, Deb for your kind words. You are one wonderful soul. I don’t know whether I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you, many blessings to you 🙂

    • hehe, that’s right. Thank you, Lindy, you are one generous soul. I am not sure whether I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you 🙂

  8. I like it. It’s true. Life would be a terrible place without art. Have you ever stopped to think what life would be like without birds? Without their calls and chatter and chirps and song? The earth would be so silent (by comparison). *That* is what life would be without art.

    • Thank you, Jessica. for your wonderful words. You are one generous soul. I am not sure whether I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Lauren for your kind words. You are one gorgeous soul. I don’t think I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you 🙂

    • Thank you, Christy, for your kind words. You are one generous soul. I am not sure whether I have told you this, but from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope this is fine with you 🙂

    • Thank you, Valerie, for your kind words. I would like to let you know that from now on, I only post once a week, every Thursday. Also, I have purchased your books. Looking forward to reading them! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • Thank you so much Subhan, what a delight to know you’re interested enough to buy my books… Do hope you enjoy them, best wishes, Valerie

    • Thank you, Tammy. Just to let you know that I only post once a week, every Thursday, so you may expect another one comes from me by tomorrow. Take care, Tammy, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

    • Thank you, Rachael. Uncle Gibran is an inspiration and I learn alot from him. Yes, it’s from a draft of a novel project I am working on. With this work and others I shall endeavor to serve humanity through the written word. Please wish me luck. And I am blessed to have met you along the way. Much love to you, Rachael 🙂

    • Thank you, Francine. You are one wonderful soul. 🙂 My mission is to serve humanity through the written word, and my blog is the avenue where it all starts. As I am busy with work, study, and writing a book project, I post only once a week, every Thursday, and in doing so I just hope I don’t disappoint. Thank you so much for your encouragement. May the light in your heart continuously shine and bring happiness to you and your family 🙂

  9. Brilliantly written. I SO agree. I can tell when I’ve ignored my painting and writing. Everything looks less colorful, everything FEELS less colorful. Art is food for the soul indeed.

  10. My dear, how are you? Sorry if it took me a while to get back to you but I had a kind of hard period over here. Anyway, I was able to read the Prophet and yes, definitely it reminds me you ( or the opposite…lol), even if maybe more in your short stories, than in the book’s chapters. I hope everything is ok with. How is it going? I wish you a great day, Cecilia

    � Cecilia Negri Professional English Italian translator P.Iva 03466830365 Modena- Italy

    ________________________________ Da: Subhan Zein A: negricecilia@yahoo.it Inviato: Mercoled� 23 Gennaio 2013 23:26 Oggetto: [New post] Life Without Art

    WordPress.com Subhan Zein posted: “� Image from http://www.artsenclave.wordpress.com � Lord Brinasla felt in the beginning it was difficult for his ego to listen to someone much younger and yet much wiser. But after”

    • No worries, Bella. This one above is taken from the draft of chapter 3. As I said, I am still working on the first few chapters, and it is very difficult especially with the characterization, plots, and setting. I guess once these issues are settled it would be far easier. Thank you for your continuous support, buzz me up when you are on Skype this weekend. I will be online the whole weekend. Take care, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

    • I have read BhagavadGita, but not Mahabbharata, though I saw the series when I was a kid. I am not sure what you meant that it bears a resemblance of style with Mahabbharata, Ian, so if you could help clarify and explain more, I would greatly appreciate it. And I’d be very much interested in knowing your thoughts too. Thanks, Ian! 🙂

      • I was referring to the conversations between dieties or earthly great souls in those epics. I’ve read fairly widely on those epics while living in India as I’ve found reading helps one understand the culture you work in. I did the same when I transfered to Singapore.

    • Thank you, Yasniger, and thank you for reblogging as well. That is an act of generosity and your generosity shall be rewarded immensely. Many blessings and much love to you, my friend. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Your words are a reflection of your wonderful soul, Rany. Thank you for always reading and commenting on my work. May the light that shine in your heart lead you into perpetual happiness 🙂

      Subhan Zein

Thank you

