If You Can…


Image Source: Favim.Com

Image Source: Favim.Com

*

*

*

If you can part the sea…;

Oh, no you can’t.

If you can turn water into wine…;

Oh, no you can’t.

If you can split the moon into two halves…;

Oh no, you can’t.

But if you can love…;

Oh, yes you can. Everybody can.

*

Yet it’s not the kind of love you would have thought.

If you love, the sea parts itself for you.

*

Likewise, water turns into wine in joy

and the moon splits into two halves elatedly.

*

If you love, you can do those miracles,

or create a miracle of your own.

Perhaps it is now the sun’s turn

to dance with you?

*

*

*

 Slide2

123 thoughts on “If You Can…

  1. Beautiful poem Subhan..Loved it so much.You have an interesting blog.I will look at your old entries even though I am late in finding you 🙂 .Looking forward to read more from you.Cheers!!!

    • Thank you, Praveena, you are too kind. I also share my daily thoughts and poetry on Twitter and Facebook, you may perhaps be interested. Blessings and love to you ♥

  2. Pingback: The Path of Love | Subhan Zein

  3. Pingback: Nasheva Speaks of Passion | Subhan Zein

  4. Subhan, I know you are busy but I nominated you becasue of all you do, with your words and daily in your life for others, your are a great influence to all, so I nominated you for a new award that does not have rules, I have nominated you for the Most Influential Blog Award for 2012. It is posted on my blog on the 12th, it reflects your heart and is a beautiful award…congratualtions! Keep sharing brother and keep helping all around you, as you are a true blessing my brother. God bless!

  5. Beautiful words 🙂 You have to take a chance on writing some poetry in Italian someday ;D All the best xx

    • Grazie mille, bella. I shall endeavor in my learning, and maybe one be able to write like Umberto Eco, but not the whole book, just a paragraph will be enough, yah? 😉

  6. Very nice Mr Zein! I liked how you empower the notion of love in showing that it can overcome a range of things we normally aren’t able to do. Through that you’re empowering your readers as well 🙂 It’s no wonder you have such a strong and devoted following 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind comment, Your Excellency Manuel Jantos 😉

      I am just trying my best to serve humanity through the written word. That’s my mission.

  7. pas baca komen yang pertama, celetukan sy –> ciee kak subhan.
    Bagus kak. I like it =)
    Keep it up.
    btw, bagi tipsnya donk kak biar bisa nulis puisi indah begini

    Cheers

    • Thank you for your kind words, Maryam. You are one wonderful soul. 🙂

      Menjawab pertanyaannmu, kamu tentu tahu kalau puisi adalah curahan isi hati. Untuk mencurahkan sesuatu kita harus bisa merasakan sesuatu. Kita harus melatih kepekaan. Melatih kepekaan bisa dilakukan dengan banyak hal, seperti misalnya duduk di depan danau untuk menikmati riak air. Ini yang paling sering saya lakukan. Buat orang lain, mereka senang mendaki gunung atau menyusuri lembah.

      Kebersatuan dengan alam terbukti memberikan kita unsur kepekaan jiwa yang lebih halus. Coba deh kamu lakukan.

      Selain itu, kalau mau menulis puisi dalam bahasa Inggris, maka ya, tentu saja, kita harus meningkatkan kemampuan kita berbahasa Inggris. Tidak harus kuliah, tapi minimal tahu kaidah gramatika dan belajar banyak dari membaca. Saya pernah kuliah Bahasa dan Sastra Inggris, namun hanya diajari menganalisa karya sastra, tidak pernah diajari menulis sastra. Jadi apa yang saya lakukan selama ini hanyalah dari berlatih sendiri.

      Bagaimana caranya? Banyak membaca. Saya senang membaca karya-karya berbahasa Inggris milik Jalaluddin Rumi, Rabindranath Tagore, Khalil Gibran, John Milton, William Wordsworth, Thomas Hardy, dan sebagainya. Dari membaca karya mereka jiwa seni kita terasah. Membaca karya mereka bukan berarti mengikuti mereka, tapi menjadikan mereka role model buat kita, sehingga suatu saat inshaallah kita bisa menghasilkan karya seni seperti mereka.

      Setelah itu kamu bisa mencoba-coba membuat puisi sedikit, demi sedikit, inshaallah hasilnya akan baik seiring berjalannya waktu.

      Di zaman yang serba canggih seperti sekarang tidak ada lagi kesulitan untuk menemukan karya-karya para penulis besar, karena hampir semuanya sudah bisa dinikmati secara online, dengan gratis pula. Tinggal Google.

      Baik, semoga uraian saya menjawab pertanyaanmu yah. Terus berlatih, dan selamat berkarya! Untuk Indonesia yang lebih baik! 🙂

      Salam hangat,

      Subhan Zein

  8. Subhan,
    You have been nominated for an “Illuminating Blogger Award”. Please visit my site to copy and follow the instructions. You deserve this for your great blog.
    Paul

  9. Absolutely beautiful Poem. Excellent Inspiring wording.
    Friendship is the purest Love and the highest form of Love
    where nothing is asked for, no conditions, one simply enjoys and giving.
    Love is the door. Love is the savior.
    ALL THE BEST.

    • Thank you, my new friend. My mission is to serve humanity through the written word, and my blog is the avenue where it all starts.

      If you like reading inspirational, soul-uplifting poems like this one as well as short stories with similar tone, I would like to kindly invite you to take a virtual tour in my blog and find any posts that might be of interest to you.

      My hope is that some of my posts find a place in your heart and are of any use to you, as they are to others.

      Also, I will visit your blog and am looking forward to reading your posts. Thank you again for your interest, may God bless you and pour you His abundant love.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  10. love is a beautiful medicine for all mental and physical ailments. beautifully presented the power of love with simple words, with great meaning
    all best wishes
    with regards
    advocatemmmohan

    • Advocatemmohan, thank you very much for your kind words. You r words are a reflection of your gorgeous soul. For your information, you can expect my posts to come every Thursday as I only post once a week. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

    • Thank you, my friend. My mission is to serve humanity through the written word, and my blog is the avenue where it all starts.

      If you are inclined to reading inspirational, soul-uplifting poems like this one and also short stories with similar tone, I would like to kindly invite you to take a virtual tour in my blog and find any posts that might be of interest to you.

      It is my hope that some of my posts find a place in your heart and are of any use to you, as they are to others.

      I will also visit your blog and am looking forward to reading your post. Thank you again for your interest, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • I just visited LO and I immediately became a follower!! You have a beautiful way with wordsmy new friend and I look forward to a blessed adventure and inspiring dialogue!!

      • Thank you very much for your trust. At times like this one, I can only hope that my posts do not disappoint. For your information, you can expect my posts to come every Thursday as I only post once a week. And if you like, you may want to consider subscribing through email so you do not miss them-a lot of other bloggers told me that they miss my posts and it turned out that they didn’t subscribe by email. Current WP subscription only allows new posts displayed in the Reader section, which means only those doing email subscription are regularly updated. If you are interested, I would be more than happy to send you the brief instruction for email subscription. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

        Subhan Zein

      • Thank you for your response. Email subscription is simple. Either you enter your email address (Follow Blog Via Email, located on the sidebar, above Twitter Updates) or you can do it using WordPress.

        If you want to use WordPress, then in your dashboard, go to your ‘Reader’ and click “Edit Following’. Then wait for a minute or two until you could find the blogs you are following. Scroll down until you find my blog address. On the right side of it, you’ll find a feature: “Get new posts by email”. You could either click “Instantly”, “Daily” or “Weekly”, anything that perfectly suits you. Hope this helps. 🙂

  11. Subhan’Allah! What a beauty you have composed! Only if the world read your lines, at once Love would spread and hate abolished. You are our Rumi, Hafez, Khayam – in this world. So happy to have you on my journey – you easily make me smile !

    • Alhamdulillah, thank you for your kind words, Mashaal. I am not sure whether I am presently in league with Rumi, Hafez, and Khayyam yet; at the moment I am just following on their footsteps. I am just hoping one day I will. But I am humbly thankful for your kind words. You are one wonderful soul. 🙂

      At the moment I am working on a book project that has absorbed so much of my energy, my mind and my soul. If you are familiar with The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran, then that is the kind of genre I am embarking on. This is something that I would love to give for humanity, and so I put all my love and dedication in it. I wouldn’t want it to be published unless it is the best of words I could give for the world. I shall see a manuscript of the project is ready within due course and I would love to hear whether you would be interested in reading it before it goes into submission to a professional editor, then an agent, and eventually a major publisher like Random House or HarperCollins. Thank you again for your time and unfailing support, sister, may love and happiness forever reside in your heart. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Muchas gracias por sus amables palabras, Marta. Usted es un alma maravillosa. Que el amor y la felicidad esté con vosotros para siempre y para siempre. 🙂

      Abrazos desde mi corazón,

      Subhan Zein

    • Mayumi, thank you for your wonderful words, you are one gorgeous soul. Take care, and may happiness and love forever reside in your heart. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  12. Great poem, Subhan Zein! Your words are so beautiful! Love is a magic wand with it anyone can do miracles around it! Your message is charming and full of wisdom!
      Thank you for sharing!
    Have a wonderful day, Subhan Zein and many blessings! 🙂

  13. Absolutely beautiful, Subhan. And indeed, the greatest of all commands is to love. And in that bliss, nothing is impossible. There lies our greatest blessing ~ our greatest power. ~ Love ever, Bobbie

    • My friend, Wendell. There is none of my posts, I think where you do not leave your beautiful footprints. Thank you very much for your words, they are a reflection of your wonderful sou. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you for your kind words. You are one generous soul. Please let me know whether you are interested in switching to email subscription to ensure post updates. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • And as we walk
      and gaze
      at the surroundings
      we shall fly
      from the mundane
      to the celestial.

      Thank you for your comment, Ian. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  14. Hi Subhan,I love your poem,it is a poem which is very encouraging and one full of optimism.Congratulations,
    All my best wishes for you.
    Ranu

    • Ranu, thank you very much for your kind words, you are one sweet and gentle soul. May the light of love forever shine in your heart, Ranu. Many blessings and much love to you.. 🙂

    • Hi Bubbyltee, thank you very much for your kind word, you are one wonderful soul. You may be interested in my other poems: ‘If your beloved is fire, then you must be water’, ‘A wondrous nightingale’, and ‘The Most Tragic Experience of Life’, should you wish in reading poems with similar tone. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you.. 🙂

Thank you

