One Night in St James Park


Image Source: Frozentime.org

Image Source: Frozentime.org

*

*

*

“Whassup, cute girl?” a stranger tried to grab Isabella’s shoulder in one dark midnight.

“Argh!” Isabella screamed and ran. No one seemed to hear her screaming there near London Metro, so she kept running until she found a taxi and went home.

Every time Isabella remembered that horrifying experience she was upset. But that upsetting moment wasn’t the only one. The numerous flirtatious texts from Raul and Kieron, the countles stares, whistles, and winks she received from men when she was having holidays in Barcelona and Rome,  for example, all these made her upset too.

Her being upset with the real world made her turn to the virtual one. She started a blog. Within weeks she felt that she had found a new world, an interesting, exuberant, and encouraging one. And plenty of interesting people too. The sun was shining until…

“You are the moonlight of my heart. You are the dew that reflects the images of my dreams,” a fellow blogger wrote her a poem, followed by another one, and another one, and then…endless virtual stalking.

Again, another traumatic experience.

A mixed race- she was the daughter of a Vietnamese father and a British mother-with hazel eyes, sensual lips, wavy hair, a skin with radiant light, and a body proportionately slender, Isabella was surely an eye-catcher.

“You know, both in the real and virtual worlds, something is wrong,” Isabella told her friend Aisha that night after the party in Miseon-Park’s house in St. James Park.

“Wrong?” the 24 year old Pakistani Aisha was puzzled.

“Yes, very wrong. I mean look at those guys hitting on me. Jesus! Too much sweet talk, too many flirts, too many grandiose words, and too many lies.”

“And too many flowers too?” Aisha remembered once a guy was waiting for Isabella in the uni hall with two bouquets of flowers in his hand.

“Uhmm,” Isabella nodded dispassionately while unlocking her car. She sighed. Then she continued, “Beauty is poisonous, you know. It makes your life difficult. Often I wish that I was far less attractive.”

*

*

*

“Argh!” Kyung Min threw herself in the sofa and started sobbing.

After spending several hundred Pounds for beauty treatments in one of London’s finest salons, she was hoping that someone was going to approach her and tell her how beautiful she was. But no one did. To the eyes of men in the party she was invisible.

“You look lovely tonight,” was the only compliment she received that night. But it was from her best friend, Miseon-Park. A female, not a male.

“Ah, you’re just saying that to make me happy,” Kyung Min wiped her tears.

Miseon-Park stroked Kyung Min’s hair and hugged her. She knew how difficult for Kyung-Min that must have been. Kyung-Min was 29 years old now but she never had a boyfriend in her life.

“That is because I am too ugly,” Kyung-Min reasoned. “My nose is too curvy. My skin is rough and full of freckles, my eyes are too big, too round, my calves are too chubby, and I think I’m too fat.”

“Oh, no, please don’t say that,” Miseon-Park tried to console her.

“But that’s the truth.. Life is unfair… I wish I could, I wish could be like…. Who was that devilishly attractive girl with the blue-satin dress?”

“The breath-taking mixed-race with wavy hair?”

“Yes. Who was she?”

“Isabella?”

“Yes. I wish I could be like Isabella, like her. If I was beautiful, life must’ve been far easier.”

*

*

*

Slide1

246 thoughts on “One Night in St James Park

  1. Extremely well written, expressed. It’s like you’re in touch with the female spirit!

    Damn, I haven’t been here a while but your post is solid and valuable. Great writing.

  2. Such a wonderfully written story…..I love it. I have been reading your other posts lately too and I am in love with your writing now ! Hope to read more stuff from you !

    • Thank you for your comment, you’re too kind. I am returning today. My last post in 2013 will soon appear, and you may expect a weekly post from me, every Saturday, AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time). Blessings and love to you ♥

  3. Somehow, I lost you from my reader! I am happy to have found you again. As I read your post, I was reminded of why I wanted to follow you in the first place. A wonderfully universal problem that you describe. Humans always are unsatisfied with who they are, I think. Until old age. Then we are happy with who we are and have much peace. 🙂 Someone mentioned that your health is not good. I hope you are well.

  4. I loved what you wrote Subhan, It’s a story of every girl. You are a great writer Subhan, Seems like you have captured a real life story of Isabella and Aisha. May you keep spreading happiness and love through your great write up’s.

    • Thank you, Reshu, for your kind words, you are one wonderful soul. If you love this post, please share so you can become the moon that reflects Light and keep Love in its full circle. May the Light of Love perpetually shine in your heart, my wonderful friend Reshu ♥

    • Meggie, my new wonderful friend. Thank you for your kind words. A man has to do what his heart tells him to do. Other than that is either greed, jealousy, cowardice, or vanity. May the Light of Love in your heart always shines 🙂

  5. This is a good story which moves fast with a strong message and poignant irony – well done!. Perhaps a sequel might show these two women how superficial outward appearances are and encourge them both to focus on what is inside not themselves but others. The attraction of beauty is a sexual urge and lasting relationships need a lot more. I’d hate to think that either settled for a ‘boyfriend” who saw their exterior rather than the person inside the package where true loveliness is to be found. Cheerio, Jane

    • Hi Jane, thank you for your kind comment. You are a generous soul. 🙂 I would consider your suggestion, so thank you again for that. It is my mission to serve humanity through the written word. Stories like this and my poetry are where this dream starts. I post inspirational stories and poetry every Thursday, so please feel free to visit if you feel like some inspiration. May the Light of Love perpetually shine in your heart, Jane ♥

  6. I would like to nominate you for the Liebster award which is given to up and coming bloggers to encourage them to continue their work. What is a Liebster? The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.

    Go to http://www.sandyshopefulroom.wordpress.com and watch for the post “What Wonder Comes When We Least Expect.

    Many blessings
    SandyO

    • Hi Sandy, wow, you are one generous soul. Thank you very much. I no longer accept award nomination, but I do appreciate your kind gesture. Thank you again, may the Light of Love perpetually shine in your heart. ♥

      • Thank you Subhan. . .I can understand you not accepting award nominations, at least you have the knowledge that yet another blogger truly appreciates good writing. . .Bless you!

        I offer you the same wish for the Light of Love to perpetually shine in your heart.

        SandyO

  7. My dear friend, I have nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Please visit this link for the rules: transcendingborders.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    • Thank you, Tazein. You are a very generous soul. I no longer accept award nomination, but I do appreciate your kind gesture. Thank you again, may the Light of Love perpetually shine in your heart. 🙂

    • Thank you, Rebecca. You are a very generous soul. I no longer accept award or Tag nomination, but I do appreciate your kind gesture. Thank you again, may the Light of Love perpetually shine in your heart ♥

    • Thank you, Ann, for your kind comment. You are a wonderful soul. 🙂 It is my mission to serve humanity through the written word. Stories like this and my poetry are where this dream starts. I post inspirational stories and poetry every Thursday, so please feel free to visit if you feel like some inspiration. Thank you, many blessings and much love to you, Ann ♥

  8. God plays fair to everyone, everyone have problems, even the most beautiful and richest person is not an exception — “this is Earth (not heaven)” a friend of mine told me.

    • Thank you, Abby, for imparting your wisdom. You are one wonderful soul. It is my mission to serve humanity through the written word. ♥ I write poetry and short stories alternately every Thursday, feel free to drop by if you need some inspiration. Hope there’s something here that can help you or be of any use to you and your family or friends. Take care, many blessings and much love to you, my wonderful friend Abby 🙂

    • Thank you, Prati5htha for your nice comment. You are one wonderful soul. 🙂 It is my mission to serve humanity through the written word. ♥ I write poetry and short stories alternately every Thursday, feel free to drop by if you need some inspiration. Hope there’s something here that can help you or be of any use to you and your family or friends. Take care, many blessings and much love to you, my new wonderful friend 🙂

  9. i enjoyed your story…you captured both sides very well. one girl having beauty as a burden & another longing to have beauty. well done.

    • Thank you, Ms. Sunshine, this is my first attempt in literary fiction, hope the next one would be better. Please do not hesitate to be a helping hand along the way, may the Light of Love perpetually shine in your heart 🙂

      • Thank you, Sunshine. My mission is to serve humanity through the written word. ♥ I write poetry and short stories alternately every Thursday, so feel free to drop by if you need some inspiration. Hope there’s something here that can help you or be of any use to you and your family or friends. Take care, many blessings and much love to you. May the sun that gives Light to the world also gives eternal Light to your heart 🙂

  10. Subhan, you are in our thoughts and prayers and we are hoping for a full recovery for you. Do what you must to get better. Best to you.
    Paul

  11. I’m praying for you Subhan, Mei wrote on her blog about your ill health, the healing power of God would infuse into you now and make you whole! Peace to you my brother!!
    Seyi Sandra David.

  12. I wish I was not so attractive… I wish I was as attractive as that girl…. what a true picture painted so beautifully. stunning indeed. I stumbled upon your blog from Madhu’s and I found a treasure. Thanks.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, you are one wonderful soul. Please do take a virtual tour and enjoy my blog, many blessings and much love to you 🙂

    • Thank you, Toner Laser. My mission is to serve humanity through the written word. I kindly invite you to take a virtual tour and read my other short stories and poems, and hope they will be of any use to you as they have been to others. Many blessings and much love to you 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  13. A very enlightening read Subhan, showing that often we all of us wish to be something other than who we are..
    showing the two perspectives was clever… 🙂 Many thanks for your insightful views

    • Thank you for imparting your wisdom, you are one generous soul. 🙂 For your information, I will from now on post once a week, every Thursday. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your kind comment, Kenneth, you are one wonderful soul. From now on I only post once a week, every Thursday, so I hope that’s enough for an update. 🙂

  14. Oau..very beautiful! Isabella can be anyone if is no attention! the virtual world is like a open field but you mult take care becouse there are a lot of wolfs!

  15. Another interesting piece. I guess that highlights the difference between men and women doesn’t it? The average man doesn’t care what he looks like unless he’s a movie star and needs the looks to stay employed. But I’ve noticed women do tend to compare with each other and looking good is very important to them. I guess both men and women need to find a middle of the road approach to their attitude on how they appear in public.

    • Hi Ian, you are right, thank you for imparting your wisdom, may 2013 be a prosperous year for you, my friend, take care, many blessings and much love to you.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  16. Hello, Subhan Zein!

    Very beautiful your story. Very nice your post!
    It’s important not ask for more than you get, otherwise you can live a disappointment. That is moral which I extracted from the story! Must live with contentment and gratitude for all the gifts of life!
    I will want Subhan Zein, New Year 2013, better, more prosperous, more optimistic, with many professional and personal satisfaction and happiness!
    Be blessed with much happiness!
    Have a wonderful Sunday!
    With respect and friendship, Stefania! 🙂

    • Hello Stefania, thank you very much for your kind comment, you are one blessed soul. I wish your 2013 is a prosperous year for you, full of love and happiness. Take care, and many blessings and much love to you, Stefania.. 🙂

  17. wonderful post.Thank you so much for visiting me and encouraging me Subhan. This year I have few things in my mind and I want them to come true so bad. Pray for me. As always my soul mate inspires me and I’m so very grateful for that. God bless you…

    • Yes, Dakshi. I have prayed for you, for your success with your love and that may God helps you with that. But I did that in an Islamic tradition as I am a Moslem, you don’t mind with that, right?

  18. Hi Subhan, a very good message to ponder on, thank you.

    I’m so pleased God tells us that True Beauty comes from within, from our heart and then we accept others as beautiful too, warts and all but we may still hate what they do that hurts God, us and others.

    True Beauty like True Love can’t be brought.

    Christian Love fronm both of us – Anne.

  19. Be careful what you wish for until you’ve walked a mile in the shoes of the one you wish to be. Ugly truths are often hidden behind beautiful facades. Liked the post, Subhan.
    Paul

    • Hi Paul, you are right, thank you for imparting your wisdom, may 2013 be a prosperous year for you, my friend, take care, many blessings and much love to you.. 🙂

  20. I think many of think the Grass is greener over the other side, and yet many do not see the Gifts they each have… When we learn to appreciate the simple things we each take for granted life become far richer.. than envy etc…
    Loved reading this Story you have a wonderful ‘Gift’ of Writing .. Enjoy this New Year and many thanks for re- subscribing to my Blog.. 🙂 Blessings to you and Happy New Year, May 2013 bring many more words of wisdom to share with others
    Sue~Dreamwalker

  21. The tragedy of life isn’t it? Beautifully written Subhan!
    Hope the year ahead is filled with blessings and much happiness 🙂

    • Buenas noches, Marta. Muchas gracias por sus amables palabras. Usted es un alma generosa. 🙂 Me gustaría desearle lo mismo, que la semana ha sido bendecido con la luz y el amor y la felicidad que sientes en tu corazón. Además, me gustaría felicitar a usted ya todos los argentinos por el triunfo mágico Lionel Messi en la obtención de su nombre en la historia de ser la única persona en ganar el Footballler del año durante 4 años consecutivos. Hazaña increíble! 🙂

  22. I love the perspective and the message of the story, we can never be happy other wise we cannot find it from our self, happy new year my friend, wishing you and the entire family a great 2013…. 🙂

    • Hi Will of Heart, you are right, thank you for imparting your wisdom, may 2013 be a prosperous year for you, my friend, take care, many blessings and much love to you.. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Lizzie for your kind comment. You are one generous soul. 🙂 I was actually experimenting with short literary fiction, and I am glad the result is not disappointing. Well, at least this is a good training for me when I look into more serious literary fiction in the future.

      Thank you again for your comment, much appreciated. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Hi Lizzie, Thank you very much for your kind words. You are one generous soul. 🙂 I only post 1-2 per week and if you feel you are inspired by my posts, you may want to consider subscribing through email so you do not miss them. Current WP subscription now only allows new posts displayed in the Reader section, which means only those doing email subscription are regularly updated. If you are interested, I would be more than happy to send you the easy instruction for email subscription. Thank you, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

  23. A very wise and insightful example of the ‘grass always being greener on the other side of the fence’. We do need to be thankful for where we are in life and the blessings we’ve been granted with, and to not wish for something other.
    Thank you so much for sharing this!
    ~Gina

    • Hello Gina, you are one wonderful soul. Your kind comments reflect the beautiful soul that you have. May the light of love forever shine in your heart, Gina. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  24. Merhaba Subhan Zein…
    her zaman şiirlerime takip edip ve yorumların için,
    çok teşekkür ederim değerli arkadaşım Subhan Zein
    senin için mutlu bir pazar diliyorum
    hep sevgi ile kalman dileğiyle

    • Senin tür Yorumlarınız için çok teşekkür ederim, Seçil, sen harika bir hafta olabilir ve sevgi ve şefkat ile kutsanmış olduğunu. Birçok bereket ve çok sevgi. 🙂

  25. Such insight from one so young. You continue to amaze me. The saying “Beauty is only skin deep” is so true and being beautiful is not always a gift anymore than being plain is a curse. How one approaches life and not only sees it but sees oneself makes all the difference. Nicely written. Bravo!

    • Hi Renee, you are one generous soul with your comment, I thank you very much for that. May today is the day that you are blessed with love and compassion, and the days that follow give you another light in your heart. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

    • Thank you, Tammy. Happy New Year to you too. May 2013 be a year of happiness, love, and success for you. Many blessings and much love to you, Tammy.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  26. Happy New Year, dear Subhan!
    Didn’t know you were a soccer fan. Yay! 🙂 I read your comments in Spanish since I’m learning it (I’m part Spanish but never got to learn this language. SO frustrating. I understand it pretty well though).
    My best wishes to you for a very happy new year.
    xx

    • Hello, Cha. Thank you for your New Year wishes, sorry that I missed this comment, I wish you the same. 🙂 Are you a soccer fan as well? Which team are you supporting? Take care, Cha, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

  27. Hello dear Subhan Zein, thank you!
    Oh!! Yes, Paula fernandes is from Minas gerais :))
    I’m so glad that you enjoyed the video.
    I’m not sure about the name of your post…sorry!!
    I wish you a great 2013 with much peace, joy and love!
    Good Luck to you in 2013!
    hugs from my heart
    Jussaea

    • Thank you, Jussara. You are one generous and sweet soul. 🙂 I hope 2013 bring you more love, success, and happiness. The only post I made related to music was about Gangnam Style. https://subhanzein.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/what-writers-and-poets-can-learn-from-gangnam-style/

      Other than that, it must be some random video that I sent you. Check the one I posted to you earlier: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1BJXbrywns.
      Hope you like it.

      Take care, Jussara. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Hugs from my heart,

      Subhan Zein

      • Hello dear Subhan, thank you very much :))
        I wish you a happy and great 2013
        much love and serenity!
        wowww, yes, I loved the wonderful video! You can see my thanks to you
        in my new page on WP : ” Thank you my dear friends”.
        Thank you for your kindness and friendship.
        My best wishes to you ~~ hugs from my heart ~~~Jussara

      • Thank you, Jussara. Você é uma alma maravilhosa. Desejo-lhe a mesma coisa, Jussara. 🙂 Maio 2013 traga mais amor, felicidade e sucesso para você. E estou ansioso para ver seu trabalho de arte nova, eles devem ser grandes. Espero que você também está fazendo muito bem com seus estudos. Tome cuidado, muitas bênçãos e muito amor para você.

    • Hi Sydney, Thank you so much for your kind wish. I hope 2013 bring you more love, happiness, and success, my friend. Take care, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  28. No tienes por que disculparte.
    Dios quiera que puedas conocer mi país es muy grande y tiene muchas bellezas, las Cataratas del Iguazú, de norte a sur la Cordillera de los Andes, el Glaciar Perito Moreno con hielo todo el año, grandes pistas de sky, hermosos balnearios,etc.
    Ojalá puedas llegar a conocerla, seguro te encantará.
    Un abrazo.

    • Oh wow, debe ser maravilloso. Ya sabes uno de mis mejores alumnos es de Argentina, y ahora está aquí en Canberra. No he conocido aquí por mucho tiempo, pero espero que pueda ponerse al día pronto. Sabes, me encantaría volver a visitar su país en dos años, cuando tenemos la Copa del Mundo, por lo que podría ser algo así como un viaje por América del Sur. Debe ser genial! 🙂 Por cierto, bienvenido a mi blog, Marta, espero que mi blog no son decepcionantes para usted ..

      E Buenos diaz! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  29. Con respecto a la pregunta que me haces debo decirte que la ciudad de La Plata es la capital de la provincia de Buenos Aires, República Argentina.
    Gracias por interesarte.

    • Por favor, sorry I thought you were from Italy. Muchas gracias por la information,Now I know it is Buenos Aires, Great to meet an Argentinian, welcome to my humble blog, Marta. 🙂 I love Lionel Messi, he’s a fantastic player, I hope to get visit Argentina in 2014 during the World Cup inshaallah..

      Thank you again for visiting my blog, I hope my blog posts are not disappointing. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  30. Hola Subhan Zein, gracias por visitar mi blog y dejar tan lindos comentarios.
    Deseo que pases unas hermosas fiestas y un muy próspero y feliz Año Nuevo 2013.
    Un abrazo.

  31. Hello dear Subhan Zein,
    thank you for your visit and nice comment :))
    I wish you a great 2013~~much love and happiness to you:))
    I can not find your blog entry “Salsa”, I would like to comment.
    Can you leave me the link? Thank you.
    have a nice day my friend ~~ hugs from my heart

    • Hi Jussara,

      Thank you for your comment and kind wish. Hmm… I am not sure if I have a blog entry with that title. Perhaps it is something else? Or can you recall what it is about?

      Hugs from my heart,

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Jussara. You are very kind. Many blessings and much love to you too. And Merry Christmas too. Hope you have a joyful Christmas with your family and friends… 🙂

      Hugs from my heart,

      Subhan Zein

  32. Buona Giornata Carissimo!!!
    ………………..★
    ……………….Joy
    ……………..*Love*
    ……………**Peace**
    ………….***Health***
    …………**Happiness**
    ………………▒ Happy Christmas! —

    • Oh, Buona Giornata Carissimo! Grazie millie, Simona. Merry Christmas to you too! May you and your family have a Christmas full of joy and happiness. Thank you, many blessings and much love to you, Simona.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  33. Stunning subtext between the two women, especially. You have a strong sense for detail and gentle growth of characters. I look forward to catching up with more of your work!

    • Hi Mayumi, Thank you so much for commenting. I hope my other posts are not disappointing, thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you very much, quirkybooks, maybe one day I’d be able to do that. thank you for your suggestions, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  34. You illustrated the human quality of not being satisfied with what we have very well. We all think others have it better than we do…not true. And I would say that our looks are our least important qualities. Wonderfully entertaining, Subhan…thank you.

    Gayle ~

    • Hi Gayle,

      Thank you for your comment, I hope the rest of my posts are not disappointing, happy holidays to you, Gayle, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  35. Will we ever get the balance right, within or without? When we interact with others, or ourselves? This dynamic works with men, perhaps with different internal criteria, as well as women. Add wealth, power, status to the mix. It’s all dangerous and explosive.

    • Yes, you are right, it’s all dangerous and explosive. Thank you for reading, Jnana. Happy holidays, and many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  36. I like the juxtaposition of the two stories and different ways of looking at ourselves and life. There are so many different ways of looking at everything.

  37. You have written a new version of the old story that we seem to never be satisfied with what we have. Perhaps your two characters could meet and then understand how expectations and reality are often not what they seem. I think every High School student should read it.

    In my family I am the ‘Tom-Boy’ the one who does not wear make-up, color/dye my hair or wear coordinating outfits with matching shoes and hand bags. While I was also once not confident in myself, I have grown to love the light that shines within, and perhaps that has allowed me to enjoy most of my life. Not pretending to be something I am not. Beauty is both in the eye of the beholder and rarely reflected in the mirror.

    Keep thinking, writing and sculpting light. Blessings and love, ~Jules

    • Hehehe,, a new version of an old story, I like that. and your suggestion seems interesting. Let me just try to get that into paper one day.. Hehe.. Thank you, Jules, it is always great to see you here. And hope your holidays are wonderful. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  38. What an irony in life! How differently we would all view life if we believed the simple fact that everybody is unique.
    There would be no need for either depression or envy if we accepted ourselves as beautiful.
    Almost everybody wants to run away from being themselves.
    I enjoyed every bit of your story; the suspense, the emotions and the analogy.
    It is just so beautiful.
    I love this post!
    Thanks for sharing!

  39. It’s good to see you venture out into new pastures Subhan. The more you experiment with different styles, I think that you also develop a sense of your true writing direction(s). Nice!

  40. I empathized with poor Isabella. All my life I’ve been so pretty. And all these women hitting on me all the time. It gets tiresome, I know.

  41. Hi Subhan!!! I’m so sorry, I got ur email a few weeks ago. Actually I read it when I woke up (I was so sleepy) and I deleted it by mistake!! And now I remember!! Arghhh I’ve been kinda silent on wordpress but now I’m back I’m visiting your fantastic blog! I’ve missed reading your beautiful stories and poems!
    SO sorry for not replying!!
    Hope you’re doing great
    xxx

    • That’s okay, Cha. Don’t worry about it. I am very much preoccupied myself. I am glad that you are back. If you want to get the latest posts in your email, just let me know, then I’ll get back to you with some information on it.

      Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  42. Amazing discontenment of life! beautifully captured and written ! you know the magic Subhan and By his grace know the real value of the values!

  43. Be careful what you wish for!! We never know what life is like for someone else until we have walked in their moccasins.

    Great to hear from you, Subhan. Wish you all the best with your thesis.
    Corinne xx

  44. It is ironic, isn’t it? People with straight hair get a perm, and people with naturally curly hair buy hair straightener! You captured it in your story, Subhan.

  45. Two adages: The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence. And … Don’t judge another person’s life until you’ve walked a mile in their shoes.
    Well done, Subhan. I enjoy your story telling.

  46. Another nicely written story Subhan. Much to think about here. Self-acceptance is the key. “Beauty is poisonous” is another wild concept that I think has some ring of truth to it because beauty seems to define itself as that which is not ugly. And Ugliness longs to be beautiful. There is no satisfaction. And that dissatisfaction is the real poison. Well done my friend.

    • Thank you, you are absolutely right. Hmmm.. That makes me think to write another story.. Hmmmm. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  47. Cerita yang baik untuk di jadikan contoh. Itulah kelemahan kita sebagai manusia… walau lebih masih tetap kurang apalagi yang kurang pastinya ingin lebih.
    Terima kasih telah berbagi adikku.

    With love,
    mei

  48. It’s a very thoughtful post,Subhan.I like it very much.Speaking about being someone else,I don’t think is a way to be.One has to appreciate oneself to be happy.This is only my thought.You are a great writer,keep it up,my dear friend.Thanks for your post.
    Ranu

Thank you

