Are You Going to Kill Me?


*

*

*

“Are you going to kill me?” abruptly she asked when I came with a knife in my right hand.

“If I have to,” I replied with a grin, finding my way to get closer to her.

She raised her eyebrows, trembling in fear. She must have been thinking that this lovely evening could be her last. In a fraction of a second, her eyes were no longer set at the piles of books in front of her like when I entered the room, but were gazing at mine.

I took a small step, while showing off the knife, “Look. Look how sharp it is.”

She gasped, petrified. In an escalating tremor she said, “If, if this is because I gave you brutal feedback on your sixth chapter last week, then… then I’m sorry. Really. Please… please don’t do it. I have little children.”

She must have thought that my smile was a sadistic one like Hannibal Lecter in Silence of the Lamb, but I couldn’t care less. I took another step, sat on the chair, and placed the box I had been holding in my left hand on the table, while she reflexively moved to the other side of the wall.

“What are you doing?” I asked her, puzzled by her sudden movement.

I received no reply but could feel her eyes were glued to the minute of what I was doing.

“Come here,” I said while opening the box.

“Uh?” she muttered.

“Yesterday my friend came down from Sydney, and he brought with him this Indonesian cake,” I said exultantly, while slicing the cake with the knife.

“I’d like to share it with you. You’ve never tried any Indonesian cake, right?”

She shook her head.

“Here. A slice?”

*

*

*

78 thoughts on “Are You Going to Kill Me?

  1. Pingback: Are You Going to Kill Me? « The Art of Translation

    • Thank you very much, Kristin. I am humbly thankful. You are one generous soul. I hope my other stories and poetry are not too disappointing for you. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  2. Subhan, As always enjoy your writing and the clever twist. As for the character, is it a sad commentary that women really do have to be this watchful of men, even ones we know when they come bearing knives? Surely he knew she was frightened. Did he get off and enjoy … just a little putting that fear into her?

    • Hi Beth,

      Thank you very much. I really appreciate your comment. I didn’t mean to be a misogynist, and I guess it is partially my fault not to be extra careful in developing the context of the story to be interpreted that way. Thank you again, I learn from this and many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Ah, you always canvased great comments here, they’re a a mirror to your great personality and generous soul. Many blessings and much love to you,, Mashaal.:-)

      Subhan Zein

  3. I love it..I let out a little giggle when I reached the end..
    It still amazes me at how well your English is..I’m only hoping that when I master my 2nd, 3rd and 4th language, I can be as fluent and knowledgeable as you are with English.
    You encourage me with every post I read Subhan =)

    • Thank you very much, my friend. I am sure that I am very far from perfection, but I am humbly thankful with your comment. You are one sweet friend. I hope your days are full of light. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Secil. Many thanks for your kind wish. I hope you are well too and that life is treating you well. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Hi Karmic Diva,

      No, I wouldn’t kill her. It’s just a story, the climax was meant to appear due to misunderstanding. But yeah, apparently it doesn’t work that well, and this means some work need to be done. Thank you for your gentle comment, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  4. Hahaha……..Almost took the poor gal’s breath away, or it could have been a heart attack!Maybe an overdose of suspense novels, or creepy horror films.Probably the pile of books!
    Another thing, the gal doesn’t trust the guy too much!
    Hmmmm…….The world is so strange and unpredictable, you never know.

    Seems i’m becoming a critic!:0
    Thumbs up, WELL DONE!

    • Thank you, Laurel.

      Great to see you back. Hope life is treating you right and the light of happiness remains bright in the realm of your heart. Many blessings and much love to you, Laurel. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Hi Judy,

      Thank you. I was actually referring to an academic supervisor here, but yeah, an editor could do. Haha. Thank you again, many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  5. Good one Subhan… 🙂 What if she have got scared to eat the cake also???… I wanted the story to continue a little more longer 😛

    • haha, thank you, Pragati. Yes, I may need to develop it into a longer one, but thought that it’s enough for now. Maybe next time, I’ll make it longer. Thank you for your sweet comment. Many blessings and much love to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Hi Adinparadise,

      It’s you again, with sweet commentary. I am not sure whether I deserve the compliment, but I am humbly thankful. Unfortunately the cake is gone, but there’s some Vietnamese cake left in my fridge, if you like. I’ll bring it down to you, for sure, hehe 😉

      Subhan Zein

    • Jarak Canberra-Sydney adalah 3 jam perjalanan. Aku tidak ada agenda ke Sydney bulan depan atau November, karena aku di sini inshaallah. Tapi kalau temanmu ada rencana berwisata ke Canberra, inshaallah aku akan senang menemaninya jalan-jalan. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  6. Ha ha, Subhan. My first thought was: Is Subhan writing a novel..? I haven’t seen anything that would suggest that in his latest posts… Second thought: He’s kidding us…..
    And you were/are…. Very funny, and a very good read, Subhan.
    btw: Yes, please. I’d love a slice….! 🙂

    • No, this is not a novel. I just thought that I was going to give a try to this kind of genre, and apparently there’s still work to be done. Anyway, thank you very much for your sweet commentary. It’s a reflection of your generosity and kind soul. Many blessings and much love to you, Carolyn. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  7. It is a very interesting story,I don’t blame her for getting scared ,who wouldn’t,someone with a knife in hand and an unrecognizable smile can scare the daylights out of you.I’m glad it had a good ending.
    Thank you for this.

Thank you

