Enemy or Friend?


*

*

*

Me: (11: 24 AM) Yeah, I’ll bring the plates.

Her: (11: 25 AM) Thanks, I appreciate it. Anything you’d like to bring?

Me: (11:28 AM) Yeah,  I’ll bring Nasi Goreng. Been sometime since the last time I cooked one. You?

Her: (11:28 AM)  Ah, I’ll bake some cake.

Me: (11: 29 AM) Brazilian cake?

Her: (11: 30 AM) Of course! 🙂

Me : (11:30 AM). Splendid! I’ve always loved your cakes! 😉

Her : (11:31 AM) Thanks. 🙂 And oh. One more thing. As I’m coming down to the refectory at around 10:30 AM on Friday, any chance you could tell the students to bring plates, cups, spoons. etc? We might have some of them in the kitchen though.

Me: (11:32 AM) But I don’t meet the students until Friday. Perhaps you could ask James to tell the students to do that? He might have classes with them from now up to tomorrow.

Her (11:32 AM) Fair enough. I’ll do that.

Me: (11: 33 AM) Wait a minute. Hahaha. This is hilarious!

Her: (11: 33 AM) What is?

Me : (11: 34 AM) Us!

Her: (11:34 AM) What do you mean?

Me: (11:35 AM)  We work in the same building, we’re both here, and now we’re communicating through emails!

*

*

*

71 thoughts on “Enemy or Friend?

  1. Hi Subhan

    Thanks for visiting soulsnet today. You have been on my mind recently because I didn’t know where you were and I missed you.

    This post is so true. New technology has brought us so much closer together in one way, here am I communicating with you, my friend, from half way across the world. But in another way it is the barrier that keeps us apart. An email is not the same as seeing the warmth of a smile!!

    Have a great day
    With love
    Corinne

    • Oh, what a lovely thought. Thank you very much, Corinne. I hope my blog has not been disappointing for you. You’re great, and are one of the people in the blogosphere that I would love to meet one day when I travel. I hope you don’t mind. So please keep in touch. I hope your days have been wonderful and your nights have been full of light and love.

      Many blessings and much love to you from Down Under,

      Subhan Zein

    • Were they texting to the guy who’s managing the projector as well? If they were, it could be the case that they were just asking him to replay the bit on a critical moment in the movie that they may probably have just missed. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  2. Hi Subhan thanks for all the likes, they are appreciated even if I don’t always visit you to say thanks, good to see you are reaching out in friendship.

    Computers, a blessing but yes they can be a curse if used to hurt, all good things come from God including the intelligence and creativity to invent Technology.

    Do you know Subhan in the Biblical times they use to meet at the City gate, that was their Computer or News paper, important events were discussed , gossip shared, property brought or exchanged, laws passed etc and they didn’t even need the Internet but then they didn’t travel as far as we do in Cyber Space, no wonder God needed to give the gift of Technology so we could share His Truth far and wide, it’s a big world out there now and how sad too if you hadn’t been able to click the Like button on our Blog 😀 Hmmmm I forgot we wouldn’t have had a Blog!

    Thanks again.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Anne. I really appreciate it. It’s a pleasure to visit your blog and to catch up with things. I hope you are doing well, and I wish you a wonderful week. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  3. Hey you! How’ve you been doing? I’ll bet you’ve been buier than ever…didn’t you go back to school? Hugs! Hope you’re doing well!

    • Thank you, Lyn. I’ve been very busy with my PhD. I haven’t had much time blogging, but I’m trying my best to juggle. I hope you are doing fine. Many blessings to you.

      Subhan Zein

  4. I’ve heard of families that text and call from various rooms in the same house. I sure hope I don’t fall into that. The modern world makes doing so too easy, but I prefer to have my loved ones close. 🙂

    By the way, I smile every time I read you blog tag line. 🙂 Cuddle the moon… Too precious.

    • That’s true. I’m totally on board, agree with you. And, yes, thank you for making that sweet comment, August. When I first wrote it, I thought that people wouldn’t like it. And now you make a comment on your fondness on that, I feel a lot more confident. 🙂

      Thank you for dropping by and kindly commenting. I hope your weekend was a blast. 🙂

      SubhanZein

  5. Very true, Subhan. My hubby tells me that some people in his office e-mail someone they work with who is just across the room. He prefers to go over and chat with them in person. 🙂

  6. Love this post reminding us of our “social networking” nonsensical way of practicing friendships these days! Like walking across a parking lot right next to the one you are texting with!

  7. I’ve seen managers sitting in offices email memos to workers only 12 feet away, but I think that’s because they’re afraid of confronting them directly.
    And I’ve seen coworkers phone each other across the open office, rather than walk to the other one.
    It’s the texting that’s the latest twist. Or am I step behind?

    • Yes, you’re right. Totally. All the other bloggers also have the same view with you. Thank you for dropping by, Jnana. I hope you have a lovely weekend! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  8. I was wondering how you could be so accurate with the time stamps in this post! It was email! How ridiculous…which was your whole point! 🙂

    I remember when I last worked in an office. I’d turn on my computer to be greeted by about 8-10 emails from “bosslady”. After reading all of them, I’d walk over to her office, which only separated us by a brief hallway, kindly greet her and try to get her to open up. I was amazed by how safe she felt behind the screen, in emails, and on the phone, but not in person. I’d long stop responding to her via emails in the morning. It was too overwhelming, plus the blasted ding of each new email, as I’d be writing her a response drove me nuts! I hope that from our small conversations and check-ins, she developed some courage and bravado to simply ask for what she wanted…in person.

    I hope you guys eventually enjoyed that Brazilian cake and Nasi Goreng together, in person.

    • We did eventually enjoy the Indonesian Nasi Goreng and Brazilian cake. They were wonderful! 🙂 I agree with you, it takes a lot of guts to actually talk to a person than sending them emails. But the problem is many people don’t have it, even if they’re working in the same office.

      Thank you for your comment and I wish you a lovely day. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  9. Nice one Subhan. x

    Sometimes, especially if you are not a speedy thinker, it is easier to write something, then refine it before sending. I believe, before telephones, we used to send a lot more letters. I don’t think emails etc are a replacement for face to face contact with the few people we have the privilege of being that physically close to, but I think a lot of people would either feel more isolated without this mode of communication, or else would quickly find alternative ways of reaching out. Of course, many people do not have access to this wonderful, if flawed technology…

    • You’re right, Julia. Totally. I guess the problem here lies with the over reliance we have towards technology that often makes us think that it is a substitute to face to face communication. Of course there are times when we need technology the most, that is, when face to face communication is virtually impossible. So balance is key, really.

      Subhan Zein

  10. Cake sounds wonderful! I worry about the youth texting each other while sitting in the same room. To me they seem like robots not even making contact via voice. But I am a fossil as far as they are concerned.

    • I guess every generation has got their own challenges, and your observation in regard to generation Y is not far from reality. Thank you for sharing your views. It’s always great to have you here, lovely day to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  11. Hi
    Sometime I ask myself that same question, but I must admit that I see emailing and text messages as great help aids that assist me. There are lots of times when I am reaching out to people who I don’t know that well, because I am in the process of enlarging my circle by getting to know them and I don’t have the time to talk with people who are close to me. Therefore, emails and text messages come in handy. These tools then become my way of letting my old friends and acquaintances know I haven’t forgotten them.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  12. both I think… it’s a great tool to stay in touch with your friends and family who live in other countries or cities ( skype or phone is better 🙂 but if it’s a colleague say three rooms down the hall it’s over the top and a kind of ridiculous me think. But it happens Great post!
    Ciao, Francina

  13. Office-mates sometimes communicate by phone as well instead of just getting up and walking down the hallway. Now emails. Lazy SOB’s is what we are.

  14. Long distance communication, like this, is so great; it means I can converse with you…
    Face to face, eye to eye, inflection of voice, subtle body language…. Arrrrrrrrrr… so good..! 🙂

Thank you

