Like This


 *

*

*

If anyone asks you
how the perfect satisfaction
of all our sexual wanting
will look, lift your face
and say,

Like this.

*

When someone mentions the gracefulness
of the night sky, climb up on the roof
and dance and say,

Like this.
*
If anyone wants to know what ‘spirit’ is,
or what ‘God’s fragrance’ means,
lean your head toward him or her.
Keep your face there close.

Like this.
*
When someone quotes the old poetic image
about clouds gradually uncovering the moon,
slowly loosen knot by knot the strings
of your robe.

Like this.
*
If anyone wonders how Jesus raised the dead,
don’t try to explain the miracle.
Kiss me on the lips.

Like this. Like this.
*
When someone asks what it means
to ‘die for love,’ point
here.
*
If someone asks how tall I am, frown
and measure with your fingers the space
between the creases on your forehead.

This tall.
*
The soul sometimes leaves the body, the returns.
When someone doesn’t believe that,
walk back into my house.

Like this.
*
When lovers moan,
they’re telling our story.

Like this.
*
I am a sky where spirits live.
Stare into this deepening blue,
while the breeze says a secret.

Like this.
*

*

*

by Jalaluddin Rumi

88 thoughts on “Like This

  1. I am awestruck by the beauty of this poetry Subhan ! I’ve been reading you silently and thought of telling you that, today 🙂 You write excellent ! Stay blessed 🙂 xx

  2. Ah Subhan…..I was reading the poem, moved by its beauty, and thinking, Wow Subhan is a great poet, this is very much like Rumi…..lol Much love.
    I see it is Rumi and Rumi is truly the greatest of poets.

  3. Pingback: RUMI « photographyofnia

  4. …in a very hot afternoon,
    a door
    a window
    a world
    opened once again
    by His words
    my heart
    my soul
    my body
    I feel
    almost under the
    wings of
    life

    it was magic
    once again!

    Thank you dear Suphan, Blessing and Happiness,
    love, nia

    • Hi Cha,

      Thank you very much for your kind words. I have been preoccupied with family matters in Indonesia and a relationship break up, so things haven’t been going on really well in my life at the moment. But I am trying to find the balance at the moment, so hopefully things will return normal soon.

      Hope you’re doing great yourself and may your days are filled with happiness and love.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  5. I really ‘like this’… 😀
    It has been a while since we touched based, Subhan….I hope things are going smooth and peacefully in your life…..stop by for a visit when you have time, have missed you there….you are always welcome…..best wishes in all you do, and thanks for sharing another wonderful post….
    blessings for a great day
    Celeste

    • Hi Celeste,

      Thank you very much for your thoughtful message. I have been preoccupied with family matters back in Indonesia. Things have been really hard, but I am trying to keep the chin up. Hope I’d get better and am looking forward to reading your posts. 🙂

      Blessings to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

Thank you

