Kopiko


*

*

*

Sentot welcomed the students who had just entered the room with a smile. He then held a Kopiko package and offered them the candies.

“Thank you,” said Namh Vuong who took two Kopikos from the package.

“No worries”, Sentot replied while offering Kopiko to the student sitting next to Namh, Abdullah.

“Thanks, Sentot,” said Abdullah.

Sentot nodded. Just when he was going to give Kopiko to Hiroko, a sudden shout emerged, “Hey Sentot, why do we have Kopiko every week?!”

Sentot knew whose voice that was. It was Marco’s. The Italian was the most outspoken and yet easily irritated student.

Sentot turned his head to Marco, “Sorry, what did you say?”

“I said, why do we always have Indonesian candies before we start the lesson?!”

Just when Sentot was going to reply to it, Park Jung said further, “Yeah, why? Why Kopiko?! And yes, why Indonesian candies?!”

Sentot felt something was wrong. But imperturbably he said, “Oh, I just happen to like these candies, and I love to share them with you guys. I thought you may want to have a taste from my country. That’s all.”

“We don’t like it, Sentot!” now Francisca looked angry.

“Yeah, it’s like every Tuesday is Kopiko day, or, or, Indonesian candies day!” Huang Rui continued.

Sentot raised his eyebrows, looking at every one of his students, “You guys don’t like my Indonesian candies?”

“No, we just don’t like the fact there are only Indonesian candies in our class in the past four weeks,” Marco explained.

Sentot’s face now displayed a bemused expression.

Then Fabrizio came up with his cheeky smile, “Don’t worry, Sentot, we love your Kopiko. We’re doing this just because we also want you to try these: Italian candies!”

“And Korean candies!” smiling, Park Jung held a green yellowish package in his hand.

“Ah, you should try my Vietnamese candies!” Namh said proudly.

“No, try my Mexican candies first, please!” Mauro begged to differ.

And now every one of the students offered Sentot candies from their country.

*

*

*

 

51 thoughts on “Kopiko

  1. This reminds me of the story of two groups of beings no longer living upon the earth – both given meal to feed their souls. And yet the one group whined and moaned irritably because they could not eat individually for the spoons were way too long. And the other – they enjoyed the feast with relish and delight because they fed each other…

    As this post is about food I thought you might like this humorous piece inspired by a writing prompt – enjoy:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/07/wwp-113-weis-words.html

  2. Candies of the world unite!

    Nothing like eating together to foster friendship – I wish some people would stop making unneccessary rules that prevents people from even sitting together to eat

  3. A joy of sharing and reflection! Your flash fiction brought joy to an overcast day. Do you want to try some Finnish candies? Or some Japanese? Kiitos! ありがとうございます! Thanks so much!

  4. Substitute “candies” with “stories” as happens in casual conversations, you will find how insensitive people are sometimes 🙂

    Nice Story, Mas Subhan. I’m really proud of Kopiko 🙂

  5. Sometimes in our eagerness to give we forget we may be depriving someone else of the opportunity to give and ourselves of an opportunity to receive. Nicely illustrated!

    • Oh, wow! That’s a very interesting interpretation. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I really appreciate it, Margarita. I wish you a lovely and happy day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you very much, Tim. Coming from you, it’s like winning and Academy Award! 😉

      Thank you again, and I wish happiness reside in the realm of your heart and bring you warmth and love. Lovely day to you, Tim! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Uh, I thought Sentot was being plotted against and it turned out that the students were just pulling his legs, so they could eventually share the candies?

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you very much, Artzent! I really appreciate your comment. May happiness reside in the realm of your heart and bring warmth and love to your soul. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  6. Just what I would suggest-that they share their own favorites-I saw you offer someone a “virtual” cup of cappuchino the other day, I will have one as well. I have told several people about your :great fellow bloggers” site. I have joined a couple of writing “challenge” sites that have kept me on the ‘net longer than I intended. I want to get back to checking out some of the bloggers on your site. Best wIshes, beebee

    • Thank you, Beebe. I wish you the best of luck in your writing endeavor! 🙂 And I am so happy that you told me you’re getting a lot more traffic after writing the “Great Fellow Bloggers” Page. Well done! 🙂 I hope it continues that way to mark the path of success you deserve.

      Subhan Zein

      • I am honored to recommend your :great bloggers” site to others, I have had so many emails, I havent had time to explore as many new blogs as I would like, but I manage a few a day. best wishes, beebee

Thank you

