New Page: Great Fellow Bloggers


Hello my friends,

*

*

 

 *

*

You know that one of the great things about blogging  is the wonderful support that we receive along the  journey. I feel blessed that there are so many people out there who care about what I do, and by the same token I want to do the same thing to others.

The idea of creating a blogroll has thus been lingering in my mind ever since I officially started this blog in early February.

Yet, it was quite frustrating  that my initial attempts at creating a blogroll were of no avail. There has always been some technical error that comes along the way. None of the four previous themes I have  used allow the use of a blogroll widget. Not even this one. It seems as if the odds were against me.

But “No worries”, as my mate Matthew used to say.

I have just created a new Page, “Great Fellow Bloggers”. It’s located next to the “Awards” Page. 🙂

A blogroll gives potential readers a link to your blog, but creating a page like this could do more than that. Potential readers may be able to access not only the link but also an idea of who you are and what you write.

Therefore, I would like to encourage you all to write a brief introduction about yourself and your work  here.

Please write in the comment section. Who knows? Your potential readers may find you that way. Even better,  one of those agents who’s looking for someone just like you may be able to treasure your talent ! 🙂

Thank you and may you all have a lovely Thursday! 🙂

Subhan Zein

Facebook Page: Subhan Zein 

137 thoughts on “New Page: Great Fellow Bloggers

  1. Subhan, Forgive my constant misspelling of your last name….I looked over your Great Fellow Bloggers list a few minutes ago and found kristen98, who I chose to look up and write because I saw that see, too had lost a son. I am afraid that the comment didnt go thru and now I cant seem to find her on the blogroll list (oh photos) above-can you send me a link to her-I have no luck just finding people by their blogname for some reason. Is there an easy way to do that? I have learned so much and have so much more to learn! beebeesworld

    • Hi Beebe,

      That’s okay. I consider Subhan is quite a difficult name to spell and pronounce for many English speakers. I suppose when that happens some bloggers may have deactivated their blog for a while. They may go for a long vacation or something, and then they return. I find this is the case with some of my fellow bloggers. So just wait for a month or two, and the link may appear. Good luck! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • I haven’t had a problem with Subhan, for some reason my mind wants to spell your surname ZAIN instead of Zein…oh, well…no one could spell my maiden name either…I have people -supposedly educated who cant spell “Sycamore” as in the tree, they spell it Sickamore…at least I’m not that bad…good day to you! beebee

  2. Thanks for continuing to read my blog, I always read your blog and try to check out some of your Great Fellow Bloggers. That group opened up a new (and busy) world for me. Thanks! beebeesworld

  3. Hi Subhan. I was just curious how you are doing today. You never did say, but I wrote you a little poem off of your poem “word and tear” I hope it didn’t offend or come across wrong, like I was trying to compete or something. I was just having fun with you with your works! I know we go around liking people’s pages to draw traffic, I do it too. But I was genuninely curious, do you honestly like what I write? I won’t get mad at you, promise! Or are you just purely advertising yourself? I do both. I like when I LIKE and am trying to draw traffic. Hope you’re having a good day today; don’t work too hard! God bless you, Subhan.

      • Oh, it stalls for little while. I cannot work on it as I have to complete writing my thesis this semester. I plan to return to my manuscript when the thesis is completed.

        Subhan Zein

      • Mine is ready to go to the publishing companies. My agent has connections and publishes best selling authors, so I’m very excited. The only drawback is that it can take up to several months to hear back from them,and if a major publishing co takes me on, it can take up to a year to get it published. Since God confirmed to me He gave me these stories, I’m not going to let myself worry. I wrote all three books 500+ pages in length in 3 months..and I found this agent so easily….I’m not bragging, I know it sounds like that; rather, I’m saying I could not write that many books of those lengths, and had no forethought of the story in that little amount of time. Someone else was at work. If you’re like me, the hardest part is sitting still for so long to write. I like exercise and get out and walk and do things…so I really had to discipline myself. I thought your book was out for some reason already. I’ll bet you’re excited, I know I am. I already have one published book under a different name. I live in a pretty big city, and it was locally well known at the time; I was humbled and thrilled when the local paper did an article on me and my book and the article was so well written by the author, it went national! Talk about feeling great! And a major bookseller decided to contract with me as well out of it. The best advice I can give to you is keep marketing yourself. If there is anything in your book that can aim at a certain industry, contact those industries. The biggest help for me was traveling around and speaking about my book, and I was paid for doing so… I also contacted many places over the internet and circulated myself that way.

    • Wow, that sounds amazing! Congratulations to you! 🙂 I surely can learn a lot from your experience and the successful path you have carved. And you have done a great thing by providing me with these substantial and interesting insights into successful publications. You are one generous soul. Thank you very much and many blessings to you.

      I personally am not looking into publication until the end of the year, as I still have to do my study commitment. Hopefully by next year when I graduate I could eventually polish my manuscript and find an awesome agent to help me land the manuscript to Random House, Bloomsburry, or HarperCollins. As it may take up two years from the completion of a manuscript to book publication, I am not looking anything near but 2015 for a possible book publication. In the meantime, I am building a platform for my writing and it seems to be working tremendously well. And after that, everything will hopefully go according to plans. Fingers crossed. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • Well, it took me a few months for my manuscript to be ready, and now he’s just submitting it to publishers. The big ones you named, he has contacts with them, but it is a waiting game. Two months to hear back from them, and then, once accepted, possibly up to a year for the biggest ones. I have looked into places like Random House and Bantam, and they either require an agent, or you have to pay for a pkg starting out at $1,000 And, you only make a small percentage off of every book sold. The agent, publishing company, and stores who buy your book make the profit..you get anywhere from 8-10% only of every book sold, give or take a few. So, unless it’s a besteller, you don’t really make anything. So it is a good idea to keep publicizing yourself as you are, but with such a long time in between, be sure and try to keep contact with all of your fans you’re already gathering. You might want to consider somehow gathering emails from everyone who frequents your site, that way when your book comes out, you can sent an email to everyone and let them know when your book is coming out. I know you could make a post here, but many of them, if they don’t subscribe, might not get it. Or, they could unsubscribe because they’re getting tons of notifications from posts, and you won’t know. The internet is a great source for marketing yourself as you are. My agent told me the other day when we talked that a great way to get in with some publishing companies is to buy a bunch of your books and sell them yourself in your own market, and then they, the pub co, will see that you have a market, and that your book is worth taking a chance on. I guess you get a special discount when you buy a bunch as the author.

    • HI Shirley,

      Thank you for your the kind words. Yes I do enjoy your blog; I hope mine doesn’t disappoint you, my friend! 🙂

      May happiness reside in the realm of your heart. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  4. Hi, I noticed you stopped by and liked my blog at imawestie.wordpress.com
    I’m just wondering if you have any inspiration to offer me leading into my one hundredth blog post?

    Thanks mate!
    Westie

    • Hello Westie,

      Would you like to write about Paulo Coelho? He’s an international phenomenon and I am sure many people would be interested in reading something about him.

      Many blessings to you, my friend. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • Thank you for the suggestion, however, this is the first time I have ever heard that name. I’m sorry but I won’t have the time to do the research I would need to, to be able to write about him in only three days time.

    • Hi Bluebutterflies,

      Thank you for your kind words. I am humbly thankful. And thank you for following my blog as well. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that you will always have a joyful ride here.

      Many blessings to you and may happiness reside in the realm of your heart.

      Namaste,

      Subhan Zein

  5. I have been so busy writing and answering mail from groups and people I found through your blog that it can be overwhelming. I am so happy to be a part of your blogger group.

    • It is so great to hear that it is working. Awesome! 🙂 Thank you for letting me know, Beebee. I hope it all works out with wonders with you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  6. this is a great and very generous idea, Subhan. You are one of the pebbles in the blue pond , creating bigger circles.
    Ciao, Francina

  7. You are so smart, sharing, caring and just plain wonderful. Thank you for giving me a few new things: a place to put who I am more out there in the world, the idea to put something like that on my blog, and a reason to update to ad so more things to my blog! So Much Fun!!
    “.”
    Cat

    • Hi Cat,

      Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. I hope the page has been useful for you. I really do. And thank you for following my blog, I hope it doesn’t disappoint you.

      May happiness reside in the realm of your heart, my lovely friend. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  8. This is so very sweet of you! How thoughtful. I’ll be back. 🙂
    You also reminded me that I removed my blogroll a while back for updating and then forgot about it. A page for bloggers is an excellent idea. 😉 Thanks!

    • Hi Ann,

      Thank you. I hope it is useful for you. And I am happy if it is. Please do share a little bit about yourself if you haven’t. It’d be great to have you there! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • Oh I forgot to get back to this. I get so scattered in Blog Land and so much has changed since I posted this comment. I’ve had to cut back and have deleted my blog. But I don’t want to lose track of your site. I will return to read your posts. In the meantime … take care 😀

      • Oh, sorry that you have to delete your blog. Are you creating a new one or something?

        And thank you very much, Ann for wanting to keep following me! I am honored and humbly thankful. You could continue following my blog by entering your email at the sidebar if you like. That way you could get notifications of my new posts.

        Hope everything goes well in your life. And may happiness reside in the realm of your heart, my lovely friend. 🙂

        Subhan Zein

      • Thank you Subhan! I deleted my blog because I won’t have time to keep up with it for a long time …. needed to prioritize. I will publish another one soon tho. More professional. I sure miss posting my photos tho. Anyhow plan to keep up with those who followed my blog and I’ll definitely sign up to follow you.
        Hope you are doing well 😀

  9. Quite a good idea. I work full time so could not do this as I would want to make sure enough time was devoted to it but I will come back to enter some info about myself here. You look to be quite young Subhan. How long have you had your site? I only just began mine last year March 2011.

    • Thank you. If you think 29 is quite young, then yes, I’m happy to be young, although I am far from being wise, that’s for sure. 🙂

      Oh, we’ve got about a year gap. I started in February this year. It’s still new and there are so many things I need to improve, I know. But I hope it doesn’t disappoint you and that you will continue finding each of your visits here a joyful ride! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • You are a year younger than my youngest daughter and she is a wonderful young woman. I see that your gifts stride before you many years more than your age so that is a good thing. I will continue to follow you. I have written since I was in my teens but did not begin again until recently and find the blog arena to be quite good.

    • Thank you. Hopefully you will find it useful. And thank you again for your visits. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that you will continue enjoying my blog in each of your visits!
      🙂

      Thank you again and lovely day to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  10. I don’t entirely dislike this idea, but….. who says someone is a great blogger??? Anyone can show up and leave a trace on your great bloggers page and proclaim himself/herself a great blogger :D…

    • I am the one who says someone is a great blogger. If you read their self introduction in the page, I am sure you won’t find any of them proclaiming themselves a great blogger. I mean, seriously. “None of them is a wanker”, as my mate Matthew used to say. 😉

      They can show up there to introduce themselves and their works; it’s only about me providing an avenue for them to get noticed. After all, blogging is about supporting each other, and I am happy to do it. I am happy to become the vessel for the success of others, that’s why I created the page. 🙂

      If they have the gut to show up there, write something, then they deserve to be there, hence being in the “Great Fellow Bloggers”. For the greatness they have for overcoming their shyness and things like that, I think they’re great, so that’s the title I chose for the page. Oh, hang on. I’m planning to change it into “Fantastic Fellow Bloggers”.

      And by the way, it is interesting how you “don’t entirely dislike this idea”, when others have found it “brilliant”, “marvelous”, “nice”, “excellent”. I learn something.

      Subhan Zein

      • :O I pressed the hot button again :D.. Thanks for replying to my comment. When I said I don’t entirely dislike the idea I meant the idea you had to introduce bloggers to each other … that is indeed a good idea, however I have problems with GREAT, GREATNESS, FANTASTIC, FABULOUS (all that lingo that I see as exaggeration and playing up to others) as if the mere appearance on your page makes them great :D). FELLOW BLOGGERS should be enough. And as to your final note regarding others’ and my comment … are you saying I am wrong just because my opinion is different than that of a few people on your blog … it may be so, cause the people that disagree with something usually don’t show up on someone’s blog to say so, they chose to go away. I however want to speak my mind. If I am to be disliked/unfollowed/ignored for that, so be it. Learning is what makes me kick.
        Paula

  11. What a marvelous idea. I know that for me, as for many of my blogging friends, the community we have found and the deep and joyful support we find within it have been as great a blessing as the writing and making and posting themselves.
    Namaste,
    Kathryn

    • Thank you, Kathryn. Obviously we have got the same experience. Thank you for being so supportive and I hope you will continue enjoying my blog. 🙂

      Lovely day to you, Kathryn! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Jake. I hope you will continue enjoying my blog. Post something about you in the page, please, so the world could treasure the wonderful talent you have, my friend! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Lauren. It’s great to have you back here. Hope many others would treasure the great talent you have that way.

      Lovely day and blessings to you, Lauren! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Shirazi. I am humbly thankful. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that each of your visits here is a joyful ride. Thank you again, and lovely day to you! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  12. Hi Subhan! Thanks so much for stumbling upon my blog. I’m so glad you did. You have a wonderful positive and creative site that I’m really going to enjoy perusing. From the few posts I have already read I am already a fan. So glad to meet you.

    • Thank you very much. I am humbly thankful. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that you will continue enjoying my blog in each of your visits. Thank you again and I wish you a lovely day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Pleasure is mine, Cik Eric. I’m happy to become the vessel for the success of others, and to you. Happy Monday, Cik! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      #PS: I’d be happy if you could use “Mas” instead of “Pak”, as I am not 30 yet, and am not married yet. LOL. Because I’m also Javanese, the use of “Mas” would be more appropriate. 🙂

  13. What a lovely thought. There really is such a wonderful support system to be found through blogging. Bravo to you for conceiving such a nice idea.

    • Hi Emma, thank you very much for your lovely comment. Great to have you here. Please write something there, it’d be great to have you there! Thank you again and lovely day to you! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  14. Thanks so very much for providing this wonderful opportunity to place our little “bios” in your blogroll page. You are graciousness itself, dear Subhan!

  15. Beau geste – a beautiful gesture. I’ve compared the blog-o-sphere to a bookstore. There are so many titles to choose from. How do we know which one we want to read/view. Thank you for offering your venue to others. Keep up the great work. Love your blog, Subhan.

  16. What a treasure you are. I am touched and blessed to know you! I can tell your heart is pure and loving. It is a wonderful feeling knowing there are kind and supportive people out there! AND who are amazing writers as well! Thank you for your generous spirit! Your friend (often absent … a little LAX on the blog-tasks), Melissa, Melis, Mel … 🙂

    • Hi Mel,

      Thank you for your lovely comment. I hope this is useful for you. Please leave your beautiful footprints in there so others would be able to know more about you. Thank you and have a lovely day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you. Please leave your beautiful footprints in there. It’d be great to have you there, so other bloggers would be able to access your site. Lovely day to you! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you. Please consider leaving your beautiful footprints in there if you haven’t done so. It’d be great to have you there. Lovely day to you! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you very much. Hope you leave beautiful footprints in there, if you haven’t done so. It’d be great to have you there. Thank you again and lovely day to you. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you very much. Please leave your beautiful footprints in there, if you haven’t done so. It’d be great for other bloggers to know more about you. Lovely day to you! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  17. Wow, that is a nice thought. But I’m not surprised because as other bloogers (Hello, everyone!!) have mentioned, you seem to be quite a special person and we really thank you for thinking of others. Namaste to you too. Teresa 🙂

  18. Thanks for the opportunity for us to broaden our circles. I love your blog and appreciate your generous spirit and positive voice in the world! Be blessed!

    • Hello Simplersjoy,

      Thank you for the link. You are one blessed soul. 🙂 Would you like to be the first one introducing yourself there? Please do. It’d be an honor for me, and I cannot be more enthralled. 🙂

      May the sunshine that gives light to our life brings warmth and happiness to the realm of your heart. 🙂

      Namaste,

      Subhan Zein

Thank you

