14 Great Authors and Poets


Hello my friends,

There are 14 authors and poets whose brilliant works I enjoy immensely. Their works have become a vessel that carries inside it a dream world I have always wished to keep forever, alive and ready.Β 

More often than not, their strings of words have emerged to become a loyal companion that helps me to momentarily forget the tedious world I long to escape and enter the world of fantasy and daydreams.

But reading is more than mere pleasure. It is also learning. One cannot become a great author unless they are an avid reader. Reading is essential in creative writing. While we may want to learn from as many people as possible, it is always best to learn from geniuses, to learn from the brilliants.

Exposing ourselves to the works of these geniuses in order to learn from them is surely not a shortcut, but it is indispensable in our journey in honing our writing skill. Β Would you agree?

I have made an album that provides a brief introduction to each of these authors and poets as well as links that provide access to their works and life. I thought I just would like to share the album with you all. Who knows? You may enjoy their works as much as I do. πŸ™‚Β 

I am sure you are familiar with most of these great authors and poets, but there may be some faces that you haven’t encountered at all.Β 

Trust me, the brilliance of their works is irrefutable that some of them have enjoyed the triumph of winning a Nobel Prize in Literature and have become an international best-selling author. Β 

What? The Album? Oh, it’s available here.

Come and take a look. Perhaps your favorite authors are there too! πŸ™‚Β 

Β *

*

*Orhan Pamuk, The 2006 Nobel Prize Laureate

Β 

74 thoughts on “14 Great Authors and Poets

    • Hi Angel,

      Thank you very much. I hope it is useful for you and thank you for following my blog. I hope you will continue enjoying my blog. May happiness reside in the realm of your heart. πŸ™‚

      Namaste,

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Lyn. I will check out the links as soon as I am settled. I have just got back from my home country and it’s a bit hard at the moment.

      May happiness reside in the realm of your heart.

      Subhan Zein

  1. I absolutely adore your list, now I have two new authors to check out Toer and Kawabata. But, I agree with the comment left above that Gilbert is way out of her league on this list. I would have loved to see Jhumpa Lahiri or Arundhati Roy or Sandra Cisneros, or Isabelle Allende instead, or (my all time favorite) Toni Morrison πŸ˜€ Impressive list with so many authors I love ❀

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Shafiqah. I am sure in the future I will make another list which comprises of the great Jane Austen, Virginia Woolf, and Tonny Morrison. Please be understanding that most of the authors in the list are those that I have exposed myself to in the past one year. I appreciate your comment if you think Gilbert is overrated, but for me she is still inspirational and deserves a seat in my list.
      Here’s a video of Gilbert, perhaps you’d be interested in watching: http://blog.ted.com/2009/02/09/elizabeth_gilbe/

      I have never read Kawabata, Toer, or Vargas Llosa prior to 2011, so this list is only about people that I have read from last year up to now. And up to now I haven’t read Virginia Woolf and Arundhati Roy, but I will. I have bought their books; they’re on my reading list. πŸ™‚

      Last year was when I finally decided to pursue an international writing career. But prior to 2011 I was in a completely different world. So at the moment I am still making a transition until the big break comes. If you read my “About” page then you will know what I mean. πŸ™‚

      Thank you again, and lovely day to you, my wonderful friend Shafiqah! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

      • Subhan I am just coming across this reply, I admire you for spreading your writerly wings so much πŸ˜€

        I am going to watch the link also and make a list inspired by you of some recent favorites I have fallen in love with also. You are so wonderful also as a writer and person Subhan have a great weekend!

  2. In their own special ways, these are not writers who takes us away from the mundane world but rather renew it for us in all of its dazzling intensity.
    That’s what makes them so special!

    • Thank you my friend, Jnana Hodson. You are wonderfully right. Thank you for leaving your beautiful footprints here. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you that you will continue enjoying my blog. πŸ™‚

      Thank you again, lovely day to you! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

  3. I really like your list with one exception – and I know that I am often a minority on this but I don’t think Gilbert lands a seat there. Although I’ve only ever read Eat, Pray, Love, I felt it was contrived for an audience and for sales. I do think it’s important to have a woman up there however and would have loved to see Jane Austen or Viriginia Woolf or….

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, Tammy. I am sure in the future I will make another list which comprises of the great Jane Austen, Virginia Woolf, and Tonny Morrison. Please be understanding that most of the authors in the list are those that I have exposed myself to in the past one year.

      I have never read Kawabata, Toer, or Vargas Llosa prior to 2011. And up to now I haven’t read Virginia Woolf and Jane Austen, but I will. They’re on my reading list. Last year was when I finally decided to pursue an international writing career. But prior to 2011 I was in a completely different world. So at the moment I am still making a transition until the big break comes. If you read my “About” page then you will know what I mean. πŸ™‚

      Thank you again. Lovely day to you, Tammy! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

  4. Thank you SO MUCH Subhan for your hard work in assembling this wonderful album. And thank you even more for prodding me to look up the work of Pamuk!

    • Hi Granbee,

      Thank you very much for your lovely comment and encouraging words. It’s always great to have you here. Yes, I’ve just bought “Snow”, and can’t wait to read it. πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you for your visits and lovely comment, Artzent. It’s always great to have you here! And if you haven’t read Rumi, I recommend you to do so. I am sure if you read his, you’ll be flying without wings. You’ll be dancing with the stars and play with the sun!

      His books are: β€œMathnawi” and β€œDivani Tabriz”. Please take a look at them. You’ll be very happy πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

  5. Kahlil Gibran, Khaled Hosseini, Paulo Coehlo and Salman Rushdie are some of my favorites too πŸ™‚ Their work is more than just inspiring. Great list πŸ˜€

    • I know! How cool are they! πŸ™‚ You should definitely read Rumi as well. I am sure if you read his, you’ll be flying without wings. You’ll be dancing with the stars and play with the sun! Go and check his books in Purdue University. I am sure they have them: “Mathnawi” and “Divani Tabriz”.

      You’ll make yourself a great favor. πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

      • Purdue has an amazing collection of books and I’m sure they’ll have the ones you’ve recommended. πŸ™‚

        Will definitely read them πŸ˜€

        -Nid

      • Great! And I’ll let you know where you could get hold of my book, Malula when we talk on Skype. πŸ˜‰

        Now I need to go home for a dinner. Talk soon!

        Subhan Zein

    • Hi Genie,

      No pressure though. I just hope that the list is useful for you. πŸ™‚

      Thank you again for your visits. Hope your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride! πŸ™‚

      Thank you again and lovely day to you, my friend! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zei

    • Hello, teecounsel, great to see you back! Welcome back!

      Thank you again for your visits. Hope your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride! πŸ™‚

      Lovely day to you my friend! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

    • Hello, my friend, thank you for your visits and thank you for your comment as well. Yes, hopefully you’ll find it useful.

      Thank you again for your visits. Hope your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride! πŸ™‚

      Thank you again and lovely day to you! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

  6. A good share indeed.. They are all writers indeed.. However, I was not familiar with all of them.. It was a great opportunity to know about them…
    πŸ™‚

    • Hello, thank you for your visits. Yes, hopefully you’ll find it useful. Thank you again for your visits. Hope your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride! πŸ™‚

      Thank you again and lovely day to you! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

    • Hi StutiJ,

      Great to see you back! Thank you for commenting and yes, we’d love to read your list! Lovely day to you, my friend! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

    • Hi my friend GJ Scobie,

      Thank you. Thank you for your comment. Hope your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride. Have a lovely day, my friend! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

    • Hi John,

      Thank you. I am happy that you stop by to comment. πŸ™‚

      No, I haven’t read much of him. But I would love to. He seemed to be a great poet. I will check him out and will probably put an order for his books. Thank you again and lovely day to you, John! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

    • Oh, aren’t you a sweetheart! Thank you for having faith on me, Ann. You’re a wonderful friend, both virtually and in person. Lovely day to you! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

  7. β–‘ β–ˆβ–€ β–ˆβ–€β–ˆ β–ˆβ–„ β–ˆ β–€β–ˆβ–€ β–ˆβ–€β–ˆ β–ˆβ–€ β–€β–ˆβ–€ β–ˆ β–ˆβ–€β”€MONDAYβ˜…
    β–‘ β–ˆβ–€ β–ˆβ–€β–ˆ β–ˆ β–€β–ˆ β–‘β–ˆβ–‘ β–ˆβ–€β–ˆ β–„β–ˆ β–‘β–ˆβ–‘ β–ˆ β–ˆβ–„β”€NEW WEEKβ˜…

    • Pleasure is mine. Yeah, “Mathnawi”, “The Alchemist”, “One Hundred Years of Solitude”, “The Prophet” are brilliant works I would recommend to you to read, if you haven’t. Hope you will enjoy them as much as I do. πŸ™‚

      Lovely day to you! πŸ™‚

      Subhan Zein

  8. Wonderful album, Subhan. You have covered almost every great literary figures of this world. πŸ™‚
    Blessings.

Thank you

