Critics


Khalil Gibran

*

*

*

One nightfall a man travelling on horseback toward the sea reached an inn by the roadside. He dismounted, and confident in man and night like all riders toward the sea, he tied his horse to a tree beside the door and entered into the inn.

At midnight, when all were asleep, a thief came and stole the traveler’s horse.

In the morning the man awoke, and discovered that his horse was stolen. And he grieved for his horse, and that a man had found it in his heart to steal.

Then his fellow-lodgers came and stood around him and began to talk. And the first man said, “How foolish of you to tie your horse outside the stable.”

And the second said, “Still more foolish, without even hobbling the horse!”

And the third man said, “It is stupid at best to travel to the sea on horseback.”

And the fourth said, “Only the indolent and the slow of foot own horses.”

Then the traveller was much astonished. At last he cried, “My friends, because my horse is stolen you have hastened one all to tell me my faults and my shortcomings. But strange, not one word of reproach have you uttered about the man who stole my horse.”

Taken from “The Forerunner” by Khalil Gibran

57 thoughts on “Critics

  1. I’m sure that I’ve already told you how much I admire Khalil Gibran. I feel like we were alive at the same time, somehow. Beautiful story; important reflection. Thank you.

    • Thank you very much, Devendre10. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that you continue enjoying my blog.

      May your days are filled with love and are shined with the rays of happiness. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Hello my friend,

      Thank you. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you.

      Many blessings to you and may your days are filled with love. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • HI Nadya Fauzia,

      Thank you very much. I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint you and that you will find visiting my blog a joyful ride.

      Many blessings to you, Nadya. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Yes, my friend, of course you are right. Thank you for following my blog and reading my posts. I hope I don’t disappoint you and that your visits in my blog have been and will always be a joyful ride.

      Thank you again and may God’s love always be the sun that brings warmth and happiness in the realm of your heart. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  2. Good selection. Few better than our old friend Gibran. As a young girl, I used to walk the streets of Greenwich Village thinking how he had walked there too and hoping I’d “catch some talent” just by being in a place where he had been.

  3. Subhan, as I have mentioned to you before Kahlil Gibran is on of my favorite writers. It is great to know that you admire him as well. My son had some one read his writings on “Marriage” from the Prophet” at his wedding. I have read the wisdom found in
    the Prophet” to my children all of my life. I just got a copy of “A Tear and a Smile” which I have not yet read. If only I could write like this man! His words are so beautiful and profound! Thanks for sharing! Beebeesworld

    • Wow, I wanna do the same thing at my wedding. Thank you for being the inspiration. Please send my hi and regard to him. He must be a wonderful man. 🙂

      A Tear and a Smile is very good. Once you’re done with that, you may also want to read “Spirits Rebellious”. It’s less famous than “The Prophet” but no less amazingly wonderful.

      Have a pleasant evening, my lovely friend.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  4. Isn`t it odd how often we hear similar stuff these days? People seem to think the thieves are merely being the smart ones & the victims purely the stupid ones. Our very own priorities are now topsy turvy, still we complain that the world around us has gone to the dogs! It is so Crazy!
    Thanks for the post Zein. As usual, quite thought provoking & nice

    • I know. It’s a shame. People have not changed much, but it’s always better to light the candle than cursing the darkness. Would you agree? 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  5. Thank goodness I don’t have people around me like that! There is such a thing as constructive criticism but none of this qualifys.And I have not run into any of this on Word Press to it’s credit!!!!

  6. Great story was that…….yes, we always have a tendency to look at the negative more than the positive, criticize more than appreciate and lend free advice more than advise 😛

  7. Interesting how we [humans] always attempt to instantly distance ourselves from what we perceive as folly and align ourselves with “righteousness,” thus, entirely missing the opportunity to be in the present and act accordingly…Thanks for the reminder!

  8. Gibran Kahlil is poetic even in narrative. I enjoy reading his work. Thanks for sharing this, and it serves as a gentle reminder how we all need to take care of each other.

    • I knew I wrote his name backward! Even after posting it and going to make breakfast for the kids, I thought to myself, you know what, I put his last name first! Sorry about that…

      • ah, don’t worry about that! I actually read his name Khalil Gibran when you wrote it “Gibran Khalil” LOL. Don’t worry, he doesn’t mind. You still love his work and that’s more important. Lovely day to you, my friend! 🙂

        Subhan Zein

    • Hi Samantha,

      Yes, me too. I can’t recall the first time I read his work, it must’ve been sometime when I was teenager. His poetry and wisdom are always admirable. Anyway, it’s great to find another Gibran lover! 🙂 Lovely day to you! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Pleasure is mine, Aurora. He is one of the non-native English speaking authors who inspire me to write in English. Come and take a look more of his writings. “The Prophet” is his famous work, if you’re interested in some Oriental wisdom. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  9. sad for even in todays world people still judge and blame the one that was been wronged
    not putting the responsiblilty on the one who committed the wrong….and then one step more.
    not to wonder why the person thought to do the deed….
    Good post Subhan Zein….
    Thank you for sharing…
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

Thank you

