When South Meets North


Last Friday my students and I had an end of module celebration.

We had a little fun, because…

*

*

Khalid cooked some Afghanistan traditional Ghoust:

*

*

*

Yan Ke was happy to bring with him some Chinese Hot Pot he cooked at home:

*

*

*

Wait a minute. What about some Red Fish a la Chef  Baloy from Mozambique?

*

*

*

I’m telling ya. We also had Kya-Mu Hin, cooked by Zinzin, from Myanmar. 🙂

*

*

*

Care for some Chinese Dumpling by De Li?

*

*

*

And what about Jab-Che (Sweet Potato Korean Noodle) by Jin Won? 🙂

*

*

*

And some tasty Timorese Traditional food by Koli?

*

*

*

Hang on. Here’s another one from South Korea: Man Doo (Korean Dumpling) by Paul.

*

*

*

Fancy some Brazilian Brigadeiro? Well, Anna Carol surely knew how to make it.

*

*

*

And some Thai Noodle by Nan?

*

*

*

With some Indonesian Risole by Niah?

*

*

*

And can you resist Punjabian Samosa by Gaurav? Well, I couldn’t. I mean, look at me! 😉

*

*

*

Neither could I take my hands off  Julie’s Taiwanese Shar Hwa Gaw, aka Snow Flower Cake! 🙂

*

*

*

And I was definitely hovering in the brink of starvation when Ecuadorian Amaya

was holding the mouthwatering Illapingacho. Well, who wouldn’t? 😉

*

 *

*

All these with some Indonesian Nasi Goreng a la Subhan? 🙂

*

*

*

*

That’s what happened When South Meets North. 🙂

Hungry now?

Well, wherever you are, my friends, if you’re having breakfast, or lunch, or dinner, I just would like to say:

“Selamat Makan, semuanya!” 🙂

*

And have a fabulous Wednesday! 🙂 🙂 🙂

*

*

Much Love,

Subhan Zein

82 thoughts on “When South Meets North

  1. Obrigada, Jussara! Acabo de ler seu e-mail. É outro e-mail lindo, obrigado por isso. 🙂 Eu vou responder a isso hoje. Espero que você tenha uma noite agradável e um bom jantar. Cuide-se, minha querida, muitas bênçãos e muito amor para você 🙂

  2. My dear Subhan, desculpe-me, mas, por favor, delete meu comentário anterior ( eu cometi um erro na escrita) e deixe apenas este, muito obrigada.

    Olá, Subhan:)) Wowww, eu estou muito feliz em ver suas fotos com os estudantes!
    Eu adorei isso! Todos os pratos parecem deliciosos, mas o “Brigadeiro ” de Ana Carol é simplesmente delicioso. Esse é meu doce predileto!!
    Abraço do meu coração e obrigada por compartilhar seus bons momentos.
    Eu desejo-lhe um lindo dia :)) Jussara

    • OK. Obrigada, Jussara! Acabo de ler seu e-mail. É outro e-mail lindo, obrigado por isso. 🙂 Eu vou responder a isso hoje. Espero que você tenha uma noite agradável e um bom jantar. Cuide-se, minha querida, muitas bênçãos e muito amor para você 🙂

      • Muito obrigada, Subhan, pela sua gentileza :))
        Eu fico feliz em saber que você gostou dos emails!
        Por favor, responda apenas quando você puder.
        Oh! Você adivinhou…eu vou jantar agora!
        Boa quarta-feira para você, meu querido, aqui no Brasil ainda estamos
        na terça-feira. Muito amor e paz para você !
        Cuide-se também! :)) abraços do meu coração, Jussara

  3. Nothing like a pot-luck to make us realize that we are all one. Lots of love in those dishes–the most important ingredient. Next time, I’ll bring some Spam Musubi. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  4. What a great reminder of the diversity of food across Asia and the world. While the dishes may be different we all share food and eat a little too much!

  5. I’m so hungry now! I used to get invited to a food club meeting when I lived in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and they would make the most amazing food. This post reminds me how lucky I was. I enjoyed the pictures! What a lovely group.

    • Yes, it is a great place to work. And the students are great too! I’m so happy teaching in UCELI! 🙂 Next time we’re aiming for a bigger one! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  6. I LOVE IT! By the time I got to the end of your post my mouth was already watering LOL! Delicious food, some of which I have never heard of! I must search around Auckland, NZ to see if I can taste some of those beautiful dishes. Thanks for sharing Subhan. It’s great to read a snippet of your life. Have a wonderful weekend. God bless xox

    • Hi Maryanne,

      Thank you for your lovely comment. Yes, it was great to share the food with the students! After the lunch we listened to traditional song from our country of origin. We had a blast! 🙂

      Lovely day to you, Maryanne! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  7. Good afternoon Subhan, sounds like a feast indeed! You are tempting my tummy! Everyone looks happy also. Food is such a great equalizer and connector.

    SomerEmpress

    • hahaha, please don’t get upset if you go to your kitchen but find no Nasi Goreng.. LOL
      I suppose the Punjabi Samosa is good enough for you for a taste for some Indian cuisine.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  8. No matter what we eat, it always tastes better when shared with friends! (well, except for fried liver and onions!) LOL I’m glad you had such a grand feast of food and friendship!!

    • Hi Jeannie,

      Yes, you’re right. The students were so excited when I told them that I was going to cook them Nasi Goreng. And when I told them that it’d be great if they could bring some food from their country of origin, they were more than happy to do it. We had a blast! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  9. Very cool! I would have chosen to attend this international eating fest than any popular restaurant! You are very lucky to have such international friends that are willing to share a bit of their culture with you =)

  10. An international feast, for sure. There wasn’t one that didn’t look yummy.
    It’s always nice to have parties where evryone brings something. The
    meal is much more delicioud because there is love in every bite.
    Great posT ….
    Isadora

    • Hi Isadora,

      Thank you for your lovely comment! Yes, we had a blast! After the feast we listened to songs from our country of origin and spent the time dancing. Great fun! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  11. Subhan, that S. Korean sweet potato noodle dish has me salivating. Such a great gathering you guys had! Congrats and hooray for all of you!

  12. Oh, yummmmmmy. how can you savour these dishes all alone, and not pass here ? haha
    It brought a smile seeing these pictures. Beautiful.

    • ahahahaha, which one, my friend? Which one? I tried them all. Which one would you like to have for dinner?

      I’ll ask them to cook it for you. LOL. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • Oh, anything out of that grand menu..lol….
        Thank you. 🙂

      • OK. What about Indonesian Nasi Goreng? I’ll make you one when we meet! Either you come down here to Australia or I visit you in India one day! Hehe,, 🙂

        Subhan Zein

      • Aah, if that’s your favourite, I would happily love to try new cuisines. One day, yes. 🙂

  13. The food sounds yummy. Looks like you had a fabulous time. In the fall, my students wrap up a “Suitcase Project” with a party – bringing food and “souveneirs” from a country of their origin. Like yours, we have a great time. Thanks for sharing.

  14. What beautiful pictures! I can’t think of a better place to be than to share a meal with friends around the world. And you seem to have the whole world right in one room that day Subhan. Many greetings and always love for all that you do! Sharon

    • Thank you, Sharon! 🙂

      Yes, we had a great fun. After the feast we listened to Youtube to get songs from our country of origin and we were all dancing. I was the most awkward one, but who cares! We had a blast!
      😉

      Much love to you. May you wear a smile in your heart, Sharon! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, my friend. I am humbly thankful! 🙂 It was a splendid international megafest, because after that we listened to songs from our country of origin. We had a blast! Lovely day to you! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

Thank you

