Seven Advices by Jalaluddin Rumi


My dear friends,

It is my pleasure to share with you today “Seven Advices” by The Great Poet  Jalaluddin Rumi. The advices were translated from Turkish by a lovely Turkish student of mine, Fatma Demirtas.

Fatma is a very intelligent and caring lady and she would love to share the advices with all of you, my dear friends. Happy reading! 🙂

*

*

In generosity and helping others,

be like a river…

*

In compassion and grace,

be like the sun…

*

In concealing others’ faults,

be like the night…

*

In anger and fury,

be like death…

*

In modesty and humility,

be like the earth…

*

In tolerance,

be like the sea…

*

Either exist as you are,

or be as you look…

94 thoughts on “Seven Advices by Jalaluddin Rumi

  1. thank you, Subhan, for sharing this lovely Rumi version…no matter how it is translated, the writer’s goodness flows brilliantly. ♥

  2. Pingback: Thank You, Beautiful Stranger! :-) « Subhan Zein

    • No, I haven’t. I read the Indonesian translation of Mathnawi when I was a teenager and I loved it. Now I’m reading the English version of Mathnawi and I’m loving it!

      I will definitely look for the book. Thank you for recommending it! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  3. Salam anak Indonesia

    Saya minat tokoh-tokoh seperti mereka, terutama sekali Imam Al-Ghazali.

    Semoga berjaya dalam hidup dan kejayaan yang sedang di lalui akan menjadi milik anda.

    Regards from S’pore.

    • Terimakasih banyak, Bintang Zohra! Semoga kebaikan juga senantiasa bersama Anda.. 🙂
      Please do return for another joyful ride! 🙂

      Kind regards,

      Subhan Zein

    • You’re right, Shoma, you’re right. Rumi is excellent! 🙂

      Thank you for visiting and following my blog. Have a wonderful day, my lovely friend! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, pleasure is mine. Thank you for keep following my blog. I hope I could share some more great stuff in the upcoming posts! 🙂

      Have a wonderful day, my lovely friend! 🙂

      Subhan zein

    • Hi Terri,

      Thank you for your lovely comment. It’s a reflection of your lovely personality, I am sure.

      Have a wonderful day, my friend! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  4. The words are poignant. I always envy those who have the skills to translate a beautiful poem written in a local dialect to an equally beautiful output written in the universal language.

  5. I love how Rumi has the ability to say things so simply but so vividly as to leave the reader (the absorber?) with a long-lasting, overflowing taste of the soul. Blessings to you as you continue your lovely blog and inspire others throughout your life! 🙂

    – Sherry

    • Thank you very much for your lovely comment, SR Dryja! I hope you have a joyful ride in each of your visits in my blog, my lovely friend! Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • I’m so sorry that I missed this, Four Blue Hills. I will accept the award, and yes, I will make a link to your blog in the post! 🙂 Thank you very much for your lovely nomination, my friend! I hope you have a great and wonderful day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  6. Hello Sir… thank you for visiting and liking my post as well… I was so overwhelmed with your comment….

    I read about your bio in your gravatar profile…. and you like poetry…. owwww….me as well sir… hope you could come on my separate blog for poetry….
    allow me to post the link here…http://onlinecreatives.blogspot.com… thanks again…

    Hope to hear back more from you sir…subhanzien..

    Jon

    • thank you, for some reason I liked your wordpress account better.. oh, just my two cents. But keep blogging, young man! You have a bright future! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • Wow… great it’s only you who have told that to me sir…. I have a bright future?… wow… thank you once again sir… i just dont know how I take life…
        What I wrote on my blogs are some of my self reflections ….

      • Keep writing, keep blogging, keep connecting with people with similar passion to ours. One day the door will open.. 🙂

        Subhan Zein

      • Absolutely sir…. I only found great strength only when I started blogging and connecting people with same interest…. and I am grateful that the people I found were kind like you sir Subhan Zein..

      • Try to read my other poems: “Love is the Water of Life”, “Whirling towards the Divinity” and “Love is a Heart Throbbing Joyride”. Hope you will like them as much as you like the one above! 🙂

        Subhan Zein

      • And one more thing, I think what I have been learning from other bloggers is that they focus on the kind of poetry they’re writing. As you read from my poetry, mine is spiritual- divinity- kind of thing. Yours might be different, but you definitely need to choose one and stick to it. Keep refining your work, then your light will shine brighter.. 🙂

        Subhan Zein

  7. This was great – a great share. I liked ‘either exist as you are or be as you look the most’ : very meaningful to me. Thank you 🙂

    • Thank you very much for your lovely comment, my friend! I really appreciate it.. 🙂 I hope you have a joyful ride in each of your visits here.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  8. Merhaba Subhan Zein..
    güzel ve samimi dostluk için size teşekkür ederim
    mutlu bir gün ve harika bir hafta sonu diliyorum
    çok kucak dolusu sevgiler size..

    • Hi Secil,

      This is me replying to your comment the second time. Haha. Yes, thank you very much. And thank you very much for the red roses as well. I’m really flattered, you’re lovely..

      If you could send me an email to subhanzein@gmail.com with your address in Turkey, I will send you some postcards from Australia.. 🙂 I hope you will like Australia and will see how beautiful the country is.. 🙂

      Thank you and have a lovely day, Secil! 🙂

      Hugs from my heart,

      Subhan Zein

  9. Beautiful work of Mevlana Jelaludin Rumi ! Thank you, Subhan, for sharing such a delight.
    Shall leave you with a mathnavi of Rumi:

    “O tongue, you are an endless treasure.
    O tongue, you are also an endless disease.”

    Subhan, thanks for a lovely comment on my blog – I responded to you.
    cheers, my friend.

    • Thank you very much, Shaheen. I loved those words as well. Thank you for making the effort to pass them on to me..

      May God bless you, forever and for always.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  10. Seven pieces of advice but I will have to spend a few days pondering each. Reading these made me want to sit down and have tea. Your words are very warm and well written. Keep up the good posts.

    • Hi Maya.. Terimakasih atas komentarnya yang baik yah.. Ayo kita saling follow-saya sudah follow Maya, tinggal Maya follow saya-agar pancaran sinar inspirasinya dapat terus menyala… 🙂

      Salam hangat,

      Subhan Zein

  11. This is so beautiful post, Thank you dear Subhan… A wonderful translation and a wonderful illustration. Rumi is great of all times… I am impressed so much. With my love, nia

    • I am so happy that it inspires you, Nia! 🙂 Your comments are wonderful.. I’m wishing you well and are blessed by the abundant grace and love, forever and for always. 🙂

      I love Rumi and I have my most recent poem very much inspired by him. It’s called, “God Invites You to a Party”. Hope you will like it! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  12. Merhaba Subhan Zein..
    Türkiye,nin en büyük şairlerinde bir tanesi
    Ben Mevlanayı çok seviyorum..
    size ve fatma kardeşime çok teşekkür ederim..
    güzel yüreğinize sağlık.
    size iyi bir gece diliyorum
    kucak dolusu sevgiler..

    • Hi Secil,

      Thank you for your lovely comment! Fatma is my student. She is a very intelligent student. And yes, Rumi, is one of my favorite poets!

      Hope you have a lovely day, Secil! 🙂

      Hugs from my heart,

      Subhan Zein

    • Yamyah! Thank you for your visit! I’m happy that you loved it! 🙂

      The most recent post, “God Invites You to a Party” is inspired by Rumi. Please feel free to have a look.. 🙂

      And have a great day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Great that you liked this. And great that you love Rumi! 🙂

      Perhaps you’d be interested in reading my newest poem, “God Invites You to a Party”, it’s very much Rumi-minded.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

  13. I love the poster a lot.
    Isn’t that a whirling dervish guy in the poster?
    I cannot read Arabic.
    Can you?

    But I know a few phrases in Arabic…
    Like assalaimualaikum, isyallah, bismillah, etc Ha… all I learnt in Malaysia, of course.

    • Yes, it’s Rumi in an caligraphic version. I could read Arabic and speak some of the language.

      It’s good that you could say a few phrases in Arabic. Next time, you should make your blog more multilingual with Arabic in it! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

      • Wa’alaykumussalam warahmatullahi wabarakatuh,

        Maturnuwun Kang Acep. Yuk, kita menyeru untuk kemanusiaan, dengan karya kita, mari kita ciptakan dunia yang lebih baik.. 🙂

        Selamat menikmati hari Senin, Kang Acep! 🙂

        Subhan Zein

    • I’m glad you loved it, Jussara! 🙂

      Yes, thank you for your wish, I need a very happy day today, and tomorrow, and every day.. 🙂

      Much love,
      Subhan Zein

    • He was very wise, the best poet from Afghanistan/Turkey, I suppose. You may be interested in reading some of his other poetry too. They’re available online.. 🙂

      Have a great day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Yes, I suppose you are right, there are many anicent wisdoms out there that we haven’t discovered due to our own limitations. The wisdoms should be unearthed and be used properly by everybody who wants them in this modern world.

      Hope you have a great day! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Thank you, Jeannie! I’m happy that I could do my job properly to safeguard the pearl of wisdoms of Rumi. I’d be happy to do it again next time.. 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Subhan Zein

  14. I appreciate your sharing with us these treasures from these ancient lands. Many philosophers have handed down words of wisdom to us in this generation and we are thankful for their work.

    • That’s right, Ian. I can feel that there are so many treasures out there un-covered from the ones we have successfully covered. A Great Poet he was, Rumi was also a wonderful philosopher who unfortunately was shamely defied by some of his own Muslim fellows..

      Still, his works are eternal and make great impact to those who believe in beauty, purity, and love..

      Have a great day, Ian, and I do hope the weather is treating you well in Down Under! 🙂

      Subhan Zein

    • Me, too, Sandy! It’s profoundly beautiful and compelling! I can see why many people are crazy about Rumi.. 🙂
      Have a great day and blessings for you.. 🙂

      Subhan Zein

Thank you

